Skip to content

Sam Adamson and Monica Marier chat about The Great Chocolate Conspiracy

December 3, 2010
tags:
by

Transcripts of the chat with Sam Adamson {@Futurenostalgic} and Monica Marier {@lil_monmon},Β held on Thursday, December the 2nd, 2010

 

The Great Chocolate Conspiracy

 

techtigger: A web serial w/15 writers? Find out more at #thepennydreadful chat today! 2pm EST #fridayflash #amwriting #weblit #writers_life #GtChocCo
TPDonline: Today on #ThePennydreadful #GtchocCo : Chat with @futurenostalgic & @lil_monmon on the fate of chocolate digestives! @ 2pm EST/ 7pm GMT
lil_monmon: The Great Chocolate Conspiracy web serial chat w. @FutureNostalgic @lil_monmon #ThePennyDreadful is live in T-minus… #ThePennyDreadful
TPDonline: Whoops forgot the hashtag there. few mins to chat on #thepennydreadful with the brains behind #GtchocCO @futurenostalgic and @lil_monmon
lil_monmon: Is this thing on? #thepennydreadful
valerievaldes: @lil_monmon I think it’s running a little behind for some reason… #thepennydreadful
TPDonline: After a prolonged hiatus, me @Cafe_nirvana & @techtigger are proud to be hosting #thepennydreadful chat again. Welcome to all who are here!
FutureNostalgic: @TPDonline Evenin’ all! #thepennydreadful
gracecrone: Hello, everyone! #thepennydreadful
techtigger: Hello everyone! We’re baaaaaack! after a long nanowrimo break, things are rolling again at The Penny Dreadful #thepennydreadful
TPDonline: Today we’re chuffed to have on board 2 supercreative people to talk abt #GTCHOCCO, @futurenostalgic & @lil_monmon. Hello! #thepennydreadful
lil_monmon: Hello? I think we’re so popular,Sam, we broke the interwebs. #thepennydreadful @FutureNostalgic @TPDonline
techtigger: For those new to our chats, I’m Angie, founder and co-moderator of https://tpdonline.wordpress.com & #thepennydreadful #thepennydreadful
TPDonline: @lil_monmon @futurenostalgic hello both of you and welcome. my typing is rusty today. How are you doing πŸ™‚ #thepennydreadful
FutureNostalgic: @TPDonline Hello! *waves to all* It’s great to be here. πŸ™‚ #thepennydreadful #GtChocCo
TPDonline: @valerievaldes hello valerie! good to see you here πŸ˜€ #thepennydreadful
valerievaldes: @TPDonline Hello hello! Good to be back after the long night of NaNo. #thepennydreadful
FutureNostalgic: @valerievaldes *waves* Great to see you! #thepennydreadful
FutureNostalgic: @TPDonline Snowed in (day 4!) but okay, all things considered. #thepennydreadful
TPDonline: So tell us how did this whole idea hatch! for the great chocolate conspiracy! @futurenostalgic @lil_monmon #thepennydreadful
FutureNostalgic: @TPDonline It was a chance conversation with @lil_monmon that started it. About the lack of choc digestives. #thepennydreadful
gracecrone: *waves* #thepennydreadful
FutureNostalgic: *waves back at @gracecrone * #thepennydreadful
TPDonline: @gracecrone hello grace πŸ™‚ welcome on board #thepennydreadful
lil_monmon: @TPDonline To get back on topic, the idea came about when I was looking for choc digestives at my local store… #thepennydreadful
evafortuna: Hi everyone! I’m new & at work so I’ll probably be slowish. @TPDonline @FutureNostaglic #thepennydreadful
lil_monmon: @TPDonline …They’re hard to get in the US. And they were out of McVitties in both plain and chocolate #thepennydreadful
lil_monmon: @FutureNostalgic I STILL can’t get McVitties here. Been mysteriously replaced by Burtons and Bowlands. : P #thepennydreadful @TPDOnline
LexxClarke: Is it real? can it be true?? #thepennydreadful
FutureNostalgic: @evafortuna *waves* Hello! Nice to meet you! πŸ™‚ #thepennydreadful
TPDonline: @evafortuna hello! Welcome to chat great to see you here πŸ˜€ #thepennydreadful
FutureNostalgic: @TPDOnline …and I wondered if there might be a conspiracy at work. #thepennydreadful
lil_monmon: @LexxClarke Welcome back, Lexx! #thepennydreadful
FutureNostalgic: Yes, what she said! —> RT @lil_monmon: @LexxClarke Welcome back, Lexx! #thepennydreadful
gracecrone: @FutureNostalgic gave me this site to order McVitties. http://www.englishteastore.com/mcbi.html #ThePennyDreadful
LexxClarke: @FutureNostalgic @lil_monmon thanks guys! #thepennydreadful
FutureNostalgic: @TPDonline Ooh, that’s not nice, Burtons are a much inferior class of choc digestives. #thepennydreadful
jimbronyaur: Hello everyone!!!! πŸ™‚ #thepennydreadful
evafortuna: @FutureNostalgic @TPDOnline @lil_monmon Now what’s this about coffee and chocolate? I think I need a mocha now. #thepennydreadful
TPDonline: @evafortuna The chocolate is gone I tell ya and so is all the coffee! #thepennydreadful
TPDonline: So how about the 15 writers to commit over 2 months? quite a feat! how did all that come abt! #thepennydreadful @futurenostalgic @lil_monmon
FutureNostalgic: @TPDonline IIRC there were a few of us around for initial chat, then we put the word out on Twitter… #thepennydreadful
lil_monmon: @TPDonline @futurenostalgic It was kind of a shock. Sam and I said we should do a story, and everyone else said Oh me too! #thepennydreadful
jimbronyaur: @FutureNostalgic I’m very jealous of all your snow!!!! #thepennydreadful
FutureNostalgic: @jimbronyaur Hi, JIm…or should I say, Agent Bronyaur? #thepennydreadful
TPDonline: @jimbronyaur hi’ya Jim! thanks for making it πŸ™‚ #thepennydreadful
TPDonline: @lexxclarke LEXXXX!!!! HEYA!!! come on down! #thepennydreadful great to see you here!
FutureNostalgic: @TPDOnline …I for one was amazed at the response – so much support. We had 15 writers in no time #thepennydreadful
FutureNostalgic: @TPDonline @lil_monmon Aw, shucks. Is very kind of you to say so. I just asked about. #thepennydreadful
FutureNostalgic: @evafortuna Here’s the link to all the episodes: http://bit.ly/bru99c In case you missed any. #thepennydreadful
techtigger: RT @FutureNostalgic @evafortuna Here’s the link to all the episodes: http://bit.ly/bru99c In case you missed any. #thepennydreadful
jimbronyaur: @FutureNostalgic Agent Bronyaur at your service… no pink thongs today though, sorry. πŸ˜‰ #thepennydreadful
FutureNostalgic: @jimbronyaur …and the “who mentioned the pink thong first” prize goes to… πŸ˜‰ #thepennydreadful
FutureNostalgic: If anyone’s wondering what the significance of the pink thong is, you’ll have to read the story to find out! #thepennydreadful
jimbronyaur: @FutureNostalgic haha! That was one of my favorite parts in this thing… #thepennydreadful
gracecrone: @FutureNostalgic @jimbronyaur Still think the thongs should be part of banner. πŸ˜€ #thepennydreadful
FutureNostalgic: Gets my vote! RT @gracecrone: @FutureNostalgic @jimbronyaur Still think the thongs should be part of banner. πŸ˜€ #thepennydreadful
TPDonline: @futurenostalgic @lil_monmon What do you think of the story so far! #thepennydreadful. I think it smashing and hilarious! #thepennydreadful
lil_monmon: @TPDonline @futurenostalgic I was SO impressed with what everyone came up with! You worry about team-ups sometimes but … #thepennydreadful
FutureNostalgic: @TPDonline I absolutely love it! It’s even better than I imagined & very, very funny! #thepennydreadful
lil_monmon: @TPDonline @futurenostalgic …everyone did such a brilliant job. It was magical. #thepennydreadful
jimbronyaur: @gracecrone @FutureNostalgic pink thongs on the banner works for me… as long as it doesn’t involve me! Maybe a cartoon. #thepennydreadful
FutureNostalgic: @TPDonline @lil_monmon I’m only sad it’s nearly over. I’d love to do another story. #thepennydreadful
jimbronyaur: @lil_monmon @TPDonline @futurenostalgic – yea, this project was a real highlight for 2010 for me. #thepennydreadful
jimbronyaur: I want to do another one after this!!!! #thepennydreadful
TPDonline: @futurenostalgic @lil_monmon Do you have sneak discussions backstage with the writers about how it’s gonna progress? #thepennydreadful
FutureNostalgic: @TPDonline @lil_monmon I’ve never consciously asked other writers what they’re planning, each ep is a surprise for me. #thepennydreadful
lil_monmon: @TPDonline @futurenostalgic I truly thought I would have been more nosey with the other authors, but I ddin’t need to be #thepennydreadful
jimbronyaur: And I still say once it’s done, it’s becomes an e-book *cough cough* #thepennydreadful
FutureNostalgic: Thx! πŸ˜€ RT @jimbronyaur: @lil_monmon @TPDonline @futurenostalgic – yea, this project was a real highlight for 2010 for me. #thepennydreadful
FutureNostalgic: RT @jimbronyaur: And I still say once it’s done, it’s becomes an e-book *cough cough* #thepennydreadful <— I heard that! πŸ˜‰
FutureNostalgic: @jimbronyaur @TPDonline Yes, I think an e-book *will* be forthcoming at some point. I’m going to need a hand. Volunteers? #thepennydreadful
lil_monmon: @TPDOnline @jimbronyaur It probably will be a free e-book, after some minimal edits and a continuity check. #thepennydreadful
gracecrone: Agreed! RT @jimbronyaur: @lil_monmon @TPDonline @futurenostalgic – yea, this project was a real highlight for 2010 for me. #thepennydreadful
lil_monmon: @FutureNostalgic @TPDoline I’m good at continuity editing. I’m rubbish at grammar and typography. #thepennydreadful
lil_monmon: RT @jimbronyaur: @lil_monmon @TPDonline @futurenostalgic – yea, this project was a real highlight for 2010 for me. #thepennydreadful –ditto
TPDonline: I say aye to the ebook! It will be a best seller! #thepennydreadful
FutureNostalgic: @lil_monmon @TPDonline I’ve never done continuity editing, so that’s handy! Can prob do the grammar, not typography tho. #thepennydreadful
FutureNostalgic: Agreed! RT @TPDonline: I say aye to the ebook! It will be a best seller! #thepennydreadful
jimbronyaur: @FutureNostalgic I’m in. I’ll help in any possible way. #thepennydreadful
TPDonline: @futurenostalgic I volunteer as always πŸ™‚ anytime you need help, give a shout! #thepennydreadful
FutureNostalgic: Thank you! πŸ˜€ RT @jimbronyaur: @FutureNostalgic I’m in. I’ll help in any possible way. #thepennydreadful
lil_monmon: @jimbronyaur @FutureNostalgic Much appreciated. Every hand on deck helps. #thepennydreadful
lil_monmon: @TPDonline Okay. Go ahead and ask about the pink thong. #thepennydreadful
FutureNostalgic: And it’s use as a choc catapult… RT @lil_monmon: @TPDonline Okay. Go ahead and ask about the pink thong. #thepennydreadful
TPDonline: @futurenostalgic @lil_monmon What does a pink thong have to do with a police task force and missing chocolate #thepennydreadful
jimbronyaur: @TPDonline Agent Bronyaur was packing up Motley and Marier’s suitcases and found their pink thongs on the floor. (I think) #thepennydreadful
lil_monmon: @TPDonline @futurenostalgic Who came up with that thong bit, Sam? I can’t remember. #thepennydreadful
FutureNostalgic: @lil_monmon @TPDonline Yes, so it was. Gets confusing cos we call slingshots catapults. My apologies. πŸ™‚ #thepennydreadful
FutureNostalgic: @lil_monmon @TPDonline Err… #thepennydreadful
lil_monmon: @TPDonline Thanks, Jim-bro, tha’t sright. And since, then it became a running gag. Which I LOVE. #thepennydreadful
TPDonline: yea was just bout to ask! @lil_monmon @FutureNostalgic Who came up with that thong bit, Sam? I can’t remember. #thepennydreadful
RandomOenophile: Ditto. RT @lil_monmon: @TPDonline Thanks, Jim-bro, tha’t sright. And since, then it became a running gag. Which I LOVE. #thepennydreadful
gracecrone: @FutureNostalgic @lil_monmon @TPDonline Was it @lauraeno who started the thong? #thepennydreadful
jimbronyaur: Between the pink thongs and me becoming some sort of a zombie for chocolate… I got beat up in this story! πŸ™‚ #thepennydreadful
lil_monmon: @TPDonline Whichever of you came up with the pink thongs, please step forward and accept your applause. #thepennydreadful
TPDonline: @gracecrone Was @jimbronyaur wasnt it? he kept dreamin bout oompaloompas and thongs on the plane in the story #thepennydreadful
lil_monmon: I feel bad that @jimbronyaur seems to get slapped around every episode. *L* #thepennydreadful
TPDonline: @randomoenophile Hello ! *Waves* #thepennydreadful
jimbronyaur: @TPDonline I didn’t come up with the thongs… I just expanded on it. It was the person before me. #thepennydreadful
gracecrone: @TPDonline @jimbronyaur Bah… can’t remember. πŸ™‚ Whoever it was, we LOVE it. #thepennydreadful
RandomOenophile: @lil_monmon Oh, c’mon, dealing with Nurse Brutus wasn’t that bad! @jimbronyaur #thepennydreadful
TPDonline: yep, no need to be shy! RT @lil_monmon Whoevr came up with the pink thongs, please step forward and accept your applause. #thepennydreadful
FutureNostalgic: @jimbronyaur @TPDonline In that case, it was @Lauraeno…I might have known! πŸ˜‰ #thepennydreadful
jimbronyaur: It was @lauraeno that started the thong thing. #thepennydreadful
FutureNostalgic: @RandomOenophile Yay! You made it! #thepennydreadful
lil_monmon: @TPDonline Of course, to clarify, it’s not really Jim, it’s analogue Jim. It’s like a community players theatre festival. #thepennydreadful
TPDonline: @lil_monmon Yes yes analogs! πŸ˜€ I love it that we’re all characters in the story without being corny! (esp the bad guy) #thepennydreadful
lil_monmon: @TPDonline It’s also amazing that no one turned into a mary-sue despite the fact that we were in it. #thepennydreadful
RandomOenophile: @TPDonline @FutureNostalgic Hihi! Glad I made it to #thepennydreadful chat! Love it that I walked into a thong discussion. πŸ™‚
jimbronyaur: It was Juniper and Marier that left their thongs on the floor… and I found them. In @lauraeno ‘s episode! πŸ™‚ #thepennydreadful
lil_monmon: RT @jimbronyaur It was @lauraeno that started the thong thing. #thepennydreadful —THANKS LAURA! ❀
techtigger: @TPDonline *lol* I didn’t slap around @jimbronyaur – I took on Chief Adamson! FRAPPE Rules! Muhhwhwaahaaahaa! #thepennydreadful
TPDonline: RT @techtigger Vive le FRAPPE! Ahoo!! Ahoo!!!! (whooped Sparta style) #thepennydreadful
lil_monmon: @techtigger @TPDonline @jimbronyaur Yes, Frappe was awesome. Everyone’s come up with amazing stuff #thepennydreadful
FutureNostalgic: @techtigger @TPDonline Yeah, you did, didn’t you? *Glares at @techtigger * Thx to @EmApocalyptic for getting me out of it! #thepennydreadful
FutureNostalgic: Yes! RT @lil_monmon: @techtigger @TPDonline @jimbronyaur Yes, Frappe was awesome. Everyone’s come up with amazing stuff #thepennydreadful
techtigger: @FutureNostalgic hee! villains have more fun πŸ˜‰ #thepennydreadful
lil_monmon: @RandomOenophile Yay! Thanks for coming! #thepennydreadful
TPDonline: @futurenostalgic @lil_monmon I didnot want to ask this as it will mess with my head but any guesses on how it will end? πŸ˜€ #thepennydreadful
FutureNostalgic: @TPDonline @lil_monmon I haven’t a clue! We’ll have to ask @LilyMulholland & #thepennydreadful‘s own @Cafe_Nirvana , they have the final eps
Cafe_Nirvana: Oh I am gonna blow everyone up with the chocolate. I have no idea what I am gonna do #thepennydreadful
FutureNostalgic: @Cafe_Nirvana Keep me alive (the check’s in the mail) πŸ˜‰ #thepennydreadful
Cafe_Nirvana: Didnt hear that, wat did you say πŸ˜‰ RT @FutureNostalgic @Cafe_Nirvana Keep me alive (the check’s in the mail) πŸ˜‰ #thepennydreadful
FutureNostalgic: @Cafe_Nirvana Shush! *flaps hands* πŸ˜‰ #thepennydreadful
lil_monmon: @Cafe_Nirvana Oh noes! A Torchwood season2 ending!! (x_x) *iz dead* #thepennydreadful
techtigger: @futurenostalgic @lil_monmon – so, is there anything you’d do differently to herd the cats/organize the story next time? #thepennydreadful
lil_monmon: @techtigger to do over? Maybe make it longer. I almost want a gorgeous novel of all of this. #thepennydreadful
lil_monmon: @RandomOenophile I was afraid to suggest it , but yes. I could do round 2. #thepennydreadful
RandomOenophile: Scratch the “almost.” We could do another round. RT @lil_monmon: …I almost want a gorgeous novel of all of this. #thepennydreadful
FutureNostalgic: @techtigger @lil_monmon Yes! I’d love to have even more writers involved next time. #thepennydreadful
techtigger: @lil_monmon you know, there’s no reason why it couldn’t keep going. We’d be happy to link to eps…. Just sayin’…. πŸ˜‰ #thepennydreadful
evafortuna: @lil_monmon @FutureNostalgic Reading what I’ve missed now. Oh, my my. C: #thepennydreadful
RandomOenophile: @lil_monmon Srsly, I’ve been so swamped with work, I’ve hardly written this fall, but I loved doing the #GtChocCo story. #thepennydreadful
FutureNostalgic: I’m in! RT @lil_monmon: @RandomOenophile I was afraid to suggest it , but yes. I could do round 2. #thepennydreadful
FutureNostalgic: @techtigger @lil_monmon We could move on to other cases. #thepennydreadful
TPDonline: @futurenostalgic one thing, why did you make it into a collaborative web serial and not just write it all one your own? #thepennydreadful
lil_monmon: RT @FutureNostalgic @lil_monmon We could move on to other cases. #thepennydreadful –if anyone’s alive.
Cafe_Nirvana: @lil_monmon Chocolate zombies indeedy! #thepennydreadful
RandomOenophile: I thought one of the rules was no killing off the MC’s? #thepennydreadful
jimbronyaur: Sorry if I get quiet… I’m sneaking here at work. Hehe. Round 2? Is that what I read? My response: HELL YES! πŸ™‚ #thepennydreadful
evafortuna: @FutureNostalgic @techtigger @lil_monmon If you do another story, I do think I’d be up for it. This looks like fun! #thepennydreadful
FutureNostalgic: @TPDonline was going to write with @lil_monmon then more tweeps joined in. Am SO glad they did. #thepennydreadful
lil_monmon: @FutureNostalgic @techtigger We’d have to bring back Grace tho. (Or Grace’s identical twin sister) . #thepennydreadful
FutureNostalgic: @evafortuna @lil_monmon Duly noted. I’ve penciled you in for the next one. πŸ™‚ #thepennydreadful
RandomOenophile: I was just in it for the chocolate. πŸ˜‰ Srsly, pls tell me that other U.S. ppl had 2 look up what a digestive biscuit is? #thepennydreadful
gracecrone: Being a villain, I was quite honored to be killed by death by chocolate. πŸ˜€ #thepennydreadful
TPDonline: I am glad they/we joined too πŸ˜€ RT @FutureNostalgic was going to write with @lil_monmon then more tweeps joined in. . #thepennydreadful
FutureNostalgic: @TPDonline I’m amazed how many more writers I met during the serial too. #thepennydreadful
valerievaldes: @RandomOenophile I only knew what a digestive was from being in London and Dublin some years ago. #thepennydreadful
lil_monmon: @RandomOenophile Only knew digestives ’cause I lived in the UK. I like ’em much better than graham crackers. #thepennydreadful
techtigger: @RandomOenophile hah! Yes, I had to ask what it was too. That’s how I got hooked into the story πŸ™‚ #thepennydreadful
RandomOenophile: @valerievaldes @lil_monmon @techtigger Thanks! That helps me feel better. πŸ™‚ #thepennydreadful
lil_monmon: @RandomOenophile You can get the chocolate ones at some Giant and Wegmans chains now. #thepennydreadful
jimbronyaur: I have to leave for now… great “seeing” everyone – keep up the good writing and let’s keep this project going!!!! πŸ™‚ #thepennydreadful
TPDonline: @futurenostalgic @lil_monmon Few more mins 4 chat 2 officially end. Do you hv any msgs 4 the contributing writers & fans! #thepennydreadful
FutureNostalgic: @jimbronyaur *waves* Bye, Jim! Take care. #thepennydreadful
techtigger: @lil_monmon Gracie could come back as choco zombie πŸ˜‰ was cool how she slowly emerged as villain w/out any planning ahead #thepennydreadful
gracecrone: @jimbronyaur *waves* #thepennydreadful
lil_monmon: @TPDonline Message: THANK YOU SO MUCH! This would not nearly be the awesome project it was without you guys. #thepennydreadful
RandomOenophile: @lil_monmon Thanks! I don’t think we have those down here, though. #thepennydreadful
lil_monmon: @jimbronyaur Take care! #thepennydreadful
FutureNostalgic: @TPDonline @lil_monmon Only thing I can say is THANK YOU ALL for writing/reading. Wouldn’t been the same w’out you all. #thepennydreadful
TPDonline: Okay the hashtag is getting updated somewhere #thepennydreadful. We must conclude today with a resounding YES! to round 2 of #GTCHOCCO
RandomOenophile: Time for me to head out as well. Thanks @lil_monmon and @FutureNostalgic for a fun project and #thepennydreadful for the chat!
FutureNostalgic: @RandomOenophile My pleasure. Thanks so much for being part of #GtChocCo. #thepennydreadful
TPDonline: Thanks to @futurenostalgic and @lil_monmon for reviving our chat sessions again with a lively dose of chocolate & coffee #thepennydreadful
techtigger: and I think we have the answer on how to run a 15 person tag-team serial – Just sit back and enjoy the ride! *lol* #thepennydreadful
gracecrone: @FutureNostalgic @TPDonline @lil_monmon #GtChocCo was a blast. Thanks for starting it! #thepennydreadful
FutureNostalgic: @TPDonline Thank you for inviting us! πŸ˜€ thepennydreadful
FutureNostalgic: Yes! RT @techtigger: how to run a 15 person tag-team serial – Just sit back and enjoy the ride! *lol* #thepennydreadful
FutureNostalgic: @gracecrone Thanks for being part of it. πŸ˜€ #thepennydreadful
Cafe_Nirvana: @gracecrone I think you will be resurrected yet. Do not take your death to heart πŸ˜€ #thepennydreadful #gtCHOCCO
FutureNostalgic: @Cafe_Nirvana @gracecrone Eek! #thepennydreadful #GtChocCo
techtigger: having Monty Python skit flashbacks… “I’m not dead yet…” πŸ˜‰ RT @gracecrone: @Cafe_Nirvana Heehee! Can’t wait! #thepennydreadful
gracecrone: @Cafe_Nirvana Heehee! Can’t wait! #thepennydreadful
TPDonline: Thanks to everyone who came today and made today so much fun after a long time, despite twitter being comatose! #thepennydreadful
techtigger: thanks everyone for stopping by the chat, and hanging in despite the slow twitter feed. Watch for more chats this month! #thepennydreadful
FutureNostalgic: @TPDonline @techtigger @Cafe_Nirvana Thanks so much for getting #thepennydreadful chats going again. Was an honour to be here tonight. πŸ˜€
gracecrone: @techtigger @TPDonline Thanks for having us! We missed the chats. πŸ™‚ #thepennydreadful
TPDonline: Watch this space for more webserials & the transcripts! please feel free to gab on everyone! the floor is open! #thepennydreadful

 

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 3, 2010 11:40 pm

    I’m sorry I missed the chat! This was such a fun project to work on. I will take my bow for the pink thong now. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

