Skip to content

Chat with Jack Roth

June 22, 2010
by

Transcripts of the chat with Jack Roth {aka @jack_roth}, author of the “The Pages” series,Β held on Tuesday, June 22nd 2010.

TPDOnline: Hello everyone & welcome to another Authorchat session. Today we are thrilled to feature the brilliant @jack_roth..
Jack_roth: Ah, thank you so much @ TPDOnline for having me write for you and for having me here
Jimbronyaur: Hello everyone!
Techtigger: @jack_roth we’re glad to have you here on TPD πŸ™‚
Jack_roth: @jimbronyaur Jim, so glad you are here. (I believe you’ll be involved in this chat too)
Lil_monmon: Afternoon, all.
Valerievaldes: @ TPDOnline Hello!
Randomoenophile: Had a cancellation, so I can peek in onΒ  chat. πŸ™‚ *waves*
TPDOnline: You can find @jack_roth http://j.mp/ddmmld & his horror poetry “the pages” at http://j.mp/bcgi0q
Techtigger: @jack_roth i’ve been dying to ask this – Horror. Poetry. Serial. How the heck did you put those 3 things together? πŸ™‚
TPDOnline: “The Pages” has the distinction of being the first Horror poetry serial to be featured on Β TPDOnline πŸ™‚ http://j.mp/bnoubt
Lexxclarke: Good evening everyone :o)
Jimbronyaur: @techtigger Good question! I’ve been wondering that myself…
TPDOnline: Good question πŸ˜€ RT @techtigger: @jack_roth Horror. Poetry. Serial. How the heck did you put those 3 things together? πŸ™‚
Jack_roth: HAHA! Well… I have to first off give credit where it’s due… To Mr. Neil Gaiman
Jack_roth: I’m a fan of his Sandman series and at the end of the first book, the last part if Death going around, taking lives…
Jack_roth: So I thought… Well then, how about I write something like that but in poetry form?
TPDOnline: @randomoenophile @valerievaldes @lil_monmon @jimbronyaur @lexxclarke @techtigger Hello everyone! So happy to see you all!
Lil_monmon: @jack_roth (nod nod) All hail he who is Gaiman. Who enlightens in the time of “Lo Bat.”
Lexxclarke: @jack_roth is poetry your main form of writing then?
Valerievaldes: @jack_roth Certainly a great source for inspiration, him.
Jimbronyaur: Gaiman… I just started reading his stuff… Am becoming a BIG fan
Gracecrone: Oops, a bit late but thought I’d pop in. Hello! *waves*
Lexxclarke: I’ve never read a Neil Gaiman book #shockconfessions
Jack_roth: @lexxclarke Not necessarily… I do enjoy writing fiction but I wanted to challenge myself with a poetry serial…
Lexxclarke: @gracecrone hey there, thanks for the RT :o)
TPDOnline: Agree, all hail! RT @lil_monmon All hail @neilhimself πŸ™‚ [but what is “lo bat” @lil_monmon?]
Lil_monmon: I like your really dark stuff, but I’m noting a lovely, lighter, Shel Silverstein vibe from the more comic poems.
TPDOnline: @gracecrone hey hey hey! *waves* Glad you could make it! πŸ˜€
Gracecrone: ADORE him. My favorite. RT @jimbronyaur Gaiman… I just started reading his stuff… Am becoming a BIG fan
Techtigger: @jack_roth was Poe an influence as well? Or just Gaiman?
Jack_roth: Yes, I can get pretty dark. As for The Pages, I try to introduce a scene and then have Death come and do its job.
Lil_monmon: @ TPDOnline “lo bat” is what my digital light says when it’s about to die.
Jimbronyaur: @lexxclarke Neither did I until last month… My first book was Neverwhere
TPDOnline: I was gonna ask this too :p RT @techtigger: @jack_roth was Poe an influence as well? Or just Gaiman?
Lexxclarke: @jack_roth well I can imagine that no other form of fiction would challenge in quite the same way as a serial horror poem!
Jack_roth: I enjoy Poe, I do. I’m sure in a way he has an influence on The Pages but not so much as Gaiman did…
Gracecrone: @lexxclarke My pleasure to RT. πŸ™‚
Jack_roth: Or at least that’s how it plays out in my head when I writing it.
Lexxclarke: @jimbronyaur well so many people laud his books so I’ll maybe give them a try :o)
Jack_roth: @lexxclarke Indeed. I have to keep a form, an idea, and a purpose each time…
Jack_roth: @lexxclarke … And hopefully keep the reader reading.
Jimbronyaur: @gracecrone I can’t believe I never heard of him until last month… I feel foolish!
TPDOnline: Ah thanks- was utterly stumped there RT @lil_monmon“lo bat” is what my digital light says when it’s about to die.
Jimbronyaur: @jack_roth What about the intro’s to each poem… Which part is talking?
Lexxclarke: @jack_roth agree,a reader soon picks when the writer doesn’t have a clear focus
Jack_roth: @jimbronyaur Each one is different. Last week’s (the old man…) Was him listening to radio… It’s just the set up
TPDOnline: Brilliant technique 2 keep focused RT @jack_roth re: The Pages, I try to intro a scene &then have Death come and do its job.
Jack_roth: @jimbronyaur The week before (the man at the desk) that was the man talking to himself before doing…
Jack_roth: @jimbronyaur … What the picture suggests…
Jack_roth: @ TPDOnline Yes, the focus is hardest. As for material, I take simple things around us – crow on a line – man at a desk, etc
Jack_roth: @ TPDOnline …and just build it from there
Gracecrone: @jimbronyaur No feeling foolish. Just think of all the Gaiman stuff you have to discover. Haven’t read all myself yet.
Jimbronyaur: @jack_roth Jack, I think you’re a little crazy man…
Jimbronyaur: @gracecrone Good point! πŸ™‚
Jack_roth: @jimbronyaur Well, it’s just me, a bottle of scotch, and my dog… So things keep quiet… And the voices start…
Lil_monmon: @jack_roth Wow. I’m rather cowed by poets. I seldom have the courage to try it. I have to give you kudos on that front.
Valerievaldes: @lil_monmon Try it one day! It’s a skill you learn, like any other.
Techtigger: @jack_roth ooh, sounds like the usual wine crowd here will have to switch to scotch for today! πŸ˜€
Jack_roth: @techtigger Works for me.
TPDOnline: @jack_roth Your poetry is very surreal, very thought provoking. Is that your intention? To make us readers reflect?
Techtigger: @jack_roth how do you plot out each episode? Or do you just seat-of-pants it?
Jack_roth: @techtigger Like I said, I take simple things. I have a list of simple things.
Lil_monmon: @valerievaldes Oh, I’ve tried it, but I use it sparingly.
Jack_roth: @techtigger Then I wonder how Death was take them. Take last week – an old man has to piss, he gets out of his car…
Jack_roth: @jack_roth …and then is run over by a truck.
Jack_roth: @jack_roth And as a teaser… This week’s poem deals with two lovers enjoying each other… Until Death shows up
Lil_monmon: @jack_roth very cool! ^,^
Jimbronyaur: @techtigger – I hope I’m not jumping the gun on anything but I have to ask @jack_roth about the pictures with each poem…
Gracecrone: @jack_roth Just catching up on The Pages. Great stuff. How’d I miss you till now? Now I feel foolish. πŸ™‚
Jack_roth: @jimbronyaur What about them?
TPDOnline: Do you draw the pictures that accompany each poem? Does the poem inspire the image or is it the other way around?
TPDOnline: @jimbronyaur Jinx…
Lil_monmon: @jack_roth Sorry to ask again, but have you ever read the works of Shel Silverstein?
Jack_roth: @gracecrone Better late than never!
Jimbronyaur: @ TPDOnline *blushes*
TPDOnline: RT @lil_monmon: @jack_roth Sorry to ask again, but have you ever read the works of Shel Silverstein?
Jack_roth: @lil_monmon Yes, I enjoy Shel. Very much. He was such a deep man with such a great heart.
Jack_roth: I draw the pictures around the poem. I don’t start drawing until it’s done…
Jack_roth: And I hardly consider it drawing… More like doodling
Lil_monmon: @jack_roth I ask because some of you lighter poems seem to channel that same impish charm.
Jimbronyaur: @jack_roth That’s cool
Jack_roth: @lil_monmon Yes, Shel is on my bookshelf. And I do often read him… Especially when the scotch kicks in πŸ™‚
Jimbronyaur: @lil_monmon – Did you know they are releasing another book of Shel’s works this year?
Gracecrone: @jack_roth I like the pictures. They totally fit the poems, all of a piece. Not doodling.
Lil_monmon: @jimbronyaur cool! Have to check that out…
Jack_roth: @gracecrone Well, I appreciate that comment. I actually do work just as hard on the drawings (doodlings) as I do the poems
TPDOnline: @jack_roth I’ve always considered them sketches, not doodly at all!
Jack_roth: @ TPDOnline Well, again, I appreciate that.
Techtigger: Sorry if there are delays, getting some odd errors from tweetchat – hopefully things won’t slow down too much!
Lexxclarke: @jack_roth and there is a great skill in blending different forms of art :o)
Jimbronyaur: @techtigger I’ve been having problems all day with Twitter
Jack_roth: @lexxclarke Well, that’s how I approach it… It’s all art. And since @ TPDOnline gives old folks like me an chance…
Jack_roth: @lexxclarke …I have to run with it…
Lil_monmon: “Fail whale ahoy, Cap’in!” “That be no Fail Whale lad! T’be the devil hi’self!”
Techtigger: @lil_monmon *rotflmao!!!*
Lexxclarke: @jack_roth when the muse visits…
Gracecrone: Agreed. RT @lexxclarke @jack_roth and there is a great skill in blending different forms of art :o)
Lil_monmon: @jack_roth A-MEN. *applaud*
TPDOnline: @jack_roth th pics remind me of an xkcd comic http://xkcd.com/740/ -which was inspired by Poe! Http://youtu.be/w4s9v8aqu4c
Lil_monmon: @jack_roth @ TPDOnline kind of Edward Gorey, actually.
TPDOnline: Twitter has been throwing whales at me for a week! :(RT @techtigger getting some odd errors from tweetchat, down too much!
Jimbronyaur: @ TPDOnline HAHA! Sad but still kind of funny… Amazing how much we need technology these days.
Jack_roth: Shall we drag @jimbronyaur into this now? And brag about his oil spill projects?
TPDOnline: @jack_roth since we’re on the subject of fail whales & the sea, we heard you are supporting @jimbronyaur oil spill project
Gracecrone: Brilliant stuff! RT @jack_roth Shall we drag @jimbronyaur into this now? And brag about his oil spill projects?
Techtigger: Heheheh – great minds think alike! Go for it @jimbronyaur !
TPDOnline: @jack_roth ahhh, I think I have a career ahead of me as a telepath. Anyway. Would you like to talk about it?
Jack_roth: @ TPDOnline YES! Jim is doing a project where from now until June 30, for every 50 comments left on his sites, he donates $10
Jimbronyaur: @ TPDOnline Thanks for the mention! I was to wake up one morning and have Jack’s email waiting, asking to be a part of it.
Jack_roth: It includes all of @jimbronyaur ‘s sites and then of course my sites
Lexxclarke: @jimbronyaur that’s a seriously great thing to do :o)
Jimbronyaur: @jack_roth Yup, ALL of my sites – probably too many to list here! πŸ™‚
Lil_monmon: @jimbronyaur Yeah, good on you.
TPDOnline: RT @jack_roth @jimbronyaur is doing a project where until June 30, for every 50 comments left on his sites, he donates $10
Jimbronyaur: @lexxclarke Thank you. And not to take away from @jack_roth ‘s chat, I am also recording an album and selling it to help
Techtigger: @jimbronyaur you are also doing a recording as well, correct?
Jack_roth: @jimbronyaur By all means, talk about your stuff. I know I’m far from the Gulf (being Nebraska) but it’s still bad to see
TPDOnline: So go & comment on all the sites everyone! RT @jack_roth It includes all of @jimbronyaur s sites and then of course my sites
Jimbronyaur: @techtigger The album will have 9 new songs from me and should be out by the end of the next week
Jimbronyaur: @ TPDOnline Yes, please comment! Make @jack_roth and I broke! πŸ™‚
TPDOnline: Yes pls! RT @jack_roth: @jimbronyaur By all means, talk abt ur stuff. I know I’m far from the Gulf but its still bad to see
Lexxclarke: @jack_roth you think you’re far away…
Jack_roth: @ TPDOnline I think it works well… You get to read some stories and poetry and help out with the #oilspill
Jack_roth: @lexxclarke Where are you from?
Jimbronyaur: @jack_roth Agreed.
Lexxclarke: @jack_roth England :o)
Techtigger: @jack_roth @jimbronyaur feel free to post links here onΒ  to any of your projects to help the gulf πŸ™‚
Lexxclarke: I think that’s called win-win! RT @jack_roth: @ TPDOnline you get to read some stories & poetry & help out with the #oilspill
Jack_roth: @techtigger Well, I have my site www.jackroth.wordpress.com and THE PAGES – www.thepagesbyjackroth.wordpress.com
Jimbronyaur: @techtigger I’ve got www.jimbronyaur.wordpress.com www.gunsngraves.wordpress.com and www.livinglostband.wordpress.com
TPDOnline: RT @techtigger @jack_roth @jimbronyaur feel free to post all your links here on #thepennydreadful to help the gulf πŸ™‚
Jimbronyaur: Or just go here to see all the links: http://www.jimbronyaur.com/writings.html
Jack_roth: RT @jimbronyaur: Or just go here to see all the links: http://www.jimbronyaur.com/writings.html
TPDOnline: Few more minutes until we conclude Authorchat with the brilliant @jack_roth. Last questions please πŸ™‚
TPDOnline: RT @jimbronyaur: just go here to see all the links re: the Oil spill project – http://www.jimbronyaur.com/writings.html
Ganymeder: RT @jimbronyaur: @techtigger The album will have 9 new songs from me and should be out by the end of the next week
Lexxclarke: So what’s next? @jack_roth
Jimbronyaur: I have to be going now… Glad to see everyone and I hope to see more comments on mine and @jack_roth ‘s sites!
Gracecrone: @ TPDOnline Thanks for the chat! @jack_roth Nice to meet you & find your great poems & pictures. πŸ™‚
Jack_roth: @lexxclarke Well, I have a novel in the works… A good thriller
Jack_roth: @jimbronyaur Thanks Jim.
Lil_monmon: RT @jimbronyaur: just go here to see all the links re: the Oil spill project – http://www.jimbronyaur.com/writings.html
Jack_roth: @gracecrone So glad you came by. Greet meeting you too!
Valerievaldes: RT @jimbronyaur: just go here to see all the links re: the Oil spill project – http://www.jimbronyaur.com/writings.html
TPDOnline: @jack_roth How does it feel to be part of The Penny Dreadful? Any messages for your fans/readers? πŸ™‚
Lexxclarke: @jack_roth marvellous!In the meanwhile I shall enjoy The Pages :o)
Jack_roth: @ TPDOnline The Penny Dreadful is simply amazing… Can’t tell everyone how flattering it is that I’m a part of it.
Jack_roth: @ TPDOnline As for the fans/readers – thank you to those who read and feel free to write me anytime with thoughts!
Gracecrone: RT @jimbronyaur: just go here to see all the links re: the Oil spill project – http://www.jimbronyaur.com/writings.html
Techtigger: @jack_roth thanks for coming out to chat with us today, Jack!
Techtigger: And thanks to everyone for joining us, despite the pod of fail-whales that swam through πŸ™‚ Time to break out the Scotch!
Jack_roth: @techtigger Thanks for having me! Time to go finish up this week’s poem and enjoy some scotch.
TPDOnline: With that lovely message, we officially conclude Authorchat with @jack_roth. Thank you so much for being with us today!
Lexxclarke: @jack_roth thanks for spending time with us!
Lexxclarke: @ TPDOnline {{{{APPLAUSE}}}} thank you for facilitating!
Valerievaldes: @jack_roth @ TPDOnline Thanks to both of you, lovely chat!
TPDOnline: You can find “the Pages” by @jack_roth on The Penny Dreadful http://j.mp/bnoubt & http://j.mp/bcgi0q
Lil_monmon: Thank you! Sorry I was fighting off whales this time. Great to meet you @jack_roth I look forward to seeing more goodies.
Jack_roth: RT @valerievaldes: @jack_roth @ TPDOnline Thanks to both of you, lovely chat!Β  – Thanks for joining! πŸ™‚
TPDOnline: Please follow @ TPDOnline or #thepennydreadful Hashtags for transcripts of today’s chat, stories & much more!
Jimbronyaur: RT @ TPDOnline: you can find “the Pages” by @jack_roth on The Penny Dreadful http://j.mp/bnoubt & http://j.mp/bcgi0q
TPDOnline: @lil_monmon @valerievaldes @lexxclarke @jimbronyaur @gracecrone @randomoenophile thanks 4 joining us!
TPDOnline: Until next time, watch this space for more! Have a good day/ Good night everyone! πŸ˜€ *waves*
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

