Skip to content

Reader 2

June 9, 2010

Author: Jason Arnett
Title: Reader (part 2 of 7)
Genre: Fantasy
Rating: pg-17
Frequency: every Wednesday

Description:
The collapsed man was sipping water from a glass Frank had retrieved from the bar. Ray studied him sitting in one of the wrought-iron chairs in the courtyard. “You okay?”

The man swallowed hard, his eyes closed, nodded quick and short. “Mm hm,” he said in the night air. “Think so.”

Ray looked at Frank. “He called you Seeker.”

“Did he?”

Ray glared at Frank. “Don’t give me that,” he said.

Frank relented. “All right, all right.”

The man finished the glass of water and set it on the table in the center of the array of chairs. “Brad Martin,” he said then coughed. “I’m Brad Martin and I need your help Seeker.” He looked stronger in the dim light.

“Call me Frank, if you don’t mind.”

Brad, the formerly collapsed man, was taken aback. “I was told to be very formal when I approached you.”

“That was my – eh, predecessor,” Frank said. “I run things a little differently.”

Ray saw the look on Brad’s face that said Okay, whatever you say. Brad saw he was being watched and turned to the older man. “You look familiar. Have we met? I’m Brad Martin.”

“Ray Briscoe.” They shook hands. “I don’t think we’ve ever met.”

“You’re a writer. I’ve read your stuff. You’re the writer.”

Frank interjected. “What can we do for you, Brad? Why did you come here?”

Click Here to Continue

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

