Skip to content

Soul Stripper 3

May 19, 2010

Author: Jason Arnett
Title: Soul Stripper (part 3 of 4)
Genre: Science Fiction
Rating: pg-17
Frequency: every Wednesday

Description:

“Who are you and what are you talking about?”

The lady in the grey suit didn’t move, still held her hands out. “I’m Eyre and we don’t have time for games,” she said. “Things are fast tipping out of balance.”

Frank shook his head, frowned. “What does that mean?”

Eyre dropped her hands and walked toward Frank. “Surely Strangiato has mentioned me and the others? Jimmy Cavanaugh? The Chondria, Brahmen, Ben Rose?”

Frank narrowed his eyes and cocked his head to the left, processing everything. She put her hands on her hips.

“Okay,” he said. “You know some things, some names. How do I know you’re really one of them?”

“Them?” Surprise in her voice. “You really don’t have any idea.” She smiled then as if looking at an idiot child.

Frank’s mistrust crept across his face. “If there’s no time,” he said, “if ‘things are tipping out of balance’ and Strangiato’s really dead? Why are you acting like this?” He stepped backward from her and held his hands at his sides.

The woman in the grey suit started and looked as if she were thinking about what he’d said. She relaxed. “You’re right,” Eyre said. ” My apology. This is difficult.”

“I’m assuming that you didn’t come here just to tell me he was dead,” Frank said.

“No,” Eyre said. “I need to take you somewhere.”

“I can’t really leave,” Frank said. “I’m working a case.”

“We know. You still need to come with me,” Eyre said. “Your case crosses over.”

“I don’t understand.”

“Will you — will you just come with me? It will make sense once we get there.”

Frank sighed, looked up at the sky, gritted his teeth. “Can I make a couple of calls first?”

Click Here to Continue

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

