Skip to content

Chat with Jim Wisneski

May 5, 2010

Transcripts of the chat with Jim Wisneski {aka @wisneski} –  author of the series “Guns n’ Graves”–  held Tuesday, May 4th, 2010.

TPDonline: Hello everyone! @techtigger here, taking over the @tpdonline mic while @cafenirvana is away 🙂 #thepennydreadful
Wisneski: Hey @techtigger! I’m here too! 😉 #thepennydreadful
TPDonline: We want to give a big welcome to author @wisneski , and say thanks for joining us this week #thepennydreadful
lastsyllable: @TPDonline @Wisneski Greetings! Checking in from the boring land of work. #thepennydreadful
TPDonline: Jim has a ton of fantastic sites where he posts stories, serials, poetry, art as well as writing novels #thepennydreadful
TPDonline: Helloooo Jim! 🙂 RT @Wisneski: Hey @techtigger! Im here too! 😉 #thepennydreadful
lauraeno: @TPDonline I’m here too 🙂 #thepennydreadful
TPDonline: His main site is http://www.jimwisneski.com and he has a stories only site http://www.jimwisneski.wordpress.com #thepennydreadful
TPDonline: Of course, he has his Guns n’Graves serial on http://TPDonline.wordpress.com #thepennydreadful
oodja: RT @Wisnesk @techtigger: Chat at #thepennydreadful NOW w/ @Wisneski author of Guns ‘n Graves, a Zombie Western Serial! http://bit.ly/ccgtda
RandomOenophile: @TPDonline :waves from under pile of papers: Y’all get to be my desk-cleaning entertainment. 🙂 #thepennydreadful
Wisneski: My main site is still a work in progress… so don’t mind it! #thepennydreadful
TPDonline: He also has another serial (complete with music he writes himself!) at http://www.livinglostband.wordpress.com #thepennydreadful
mariblaser: I’m here, and I bring, guess what? heh 😉 #thepennydreadful
oodja: Howdy, @Wisneski! #thepennydreadful
Wisneski: Yes, and Living Lost is on Twitter @Living_Lost #thepennydreadful
TPDonline: Phew, I think that’s everything! You really are the energizer bunny of writers, Jim! @wisneski #thepennydreadful
Wisneski: I try! I have to stay busy or else I’ll go crazy! Plus, finding different outlets for stories AND music is fun! #thepennydreadful
lauraeno: @mariblaser Wine? 😉 #thepennydreadful
mariblaser: Have a great time reading dear! 🙂 Ah, enjoy the wine. 😉 RT @LexxClarke: sorry to miss chat at #thepennydreadful again but #amreading
Wisneski: Wine??? Who has wine? Ahem… it is my birthday today too! 🙂 #thepennydreadful
TPDonline: Just a note – this is an open chat, so feel free to ask Jim questions. I’ll be tossing a few in as moderator too 🙂 #thepennydreadful
RandomOenophile: Sweet! We’re pouring already? RT @lauraeno: @mariblaser Wine? 😉 #thepennydreadful
AnneTylerLord: My #thepennydreadful feed seems to be stuck back at 2:07, will try to follow in homefeed – hi guys!
TPDonline: @Wisneski hey, Happy Birthday!!! @mariblaser break out the wine! *grinz* #thepennydreadful
Wisneski: I feel silly but I forgot to mention my ezine – Soft Whispers! http://www.softwhispersmag.com #thepennydreadful
mariblaser: Oh yeah. Always, heh. 😉 RT @RandomOenophile: Sweet! We’re pouring already? RT @lauraeno: @mariblaser Wine? 😉 #thepennydreadful
TPDonline: @AnneTylerLord i’m using http://tweetchat.com/room/thepennydreadful – seems to be moving there #thepennydreadful
TPDonline: @Wisneski well, I know my first question – how do you find time to do it all? 🙂 #thepennydreadful
lastsyllable: @Wisneski @TPDonline Guns ‘n Graves moves at a stately pace… are you trying to kill us all with anticipation? 🙂 #thepennydreadful
mariblaser: What? It’s @Wisneski ‘s bday? *pops prosecco to celebrate* Anyone? 🙂 #thepennydreadful
Wisneski: ah, the time thing… well… #thepennydreadful
AnneTylerLord: RT @lauraeno: @mariblaser Wine? 😉 #thepennydreadful // Yay! Pass it around for a Happy Birthday toast to Jim!
Wisneski: First, I have a very supportive wife who lets me write when I need to! I wake up at 5:30am, hit the gym, write… #thepennydreadful
Wisneski: Write while at work (yes, I’m a rebel)… and after I get home and family time is over… back to writing! #thepennydreadful
Wisneski: It’s a never ending process with lots of notes! I try to stay SUPER organized and always know what’s happening! #thepennydreadful
lauraeno: @Wisneski Yeah, Jim. Soft Whispers??!! LOL! #thepennydreadful
Wisneski: @lastsyllable Why yes, that is my plan indeed! 😉 I like to keep Gn’G under 800 words per episode right now. #thepennydreadful
AnneTylerLord: @TPDonline thanks, that works – never used that before #thepennydreadful
Wisneski: I keep Gn’G short because I want everyone to feel how my char. (John) does… waiting to see what happens next! 🙂 #thepennydreadful
Wisneski: @lauraeno I know! How can I forget Soft Whispers! #thepennydreadful
lastsyllable: @TPDonline @Wisneski How long does it take you to plan an episode, and how much of the arc do you plan in advance? #thepennydreadful
TPDonline: @Wisneski do you have any particular method you use to stay organized? computer, dayplanner, stickynotes 😉 #thepennydreadful
Wisneski: I plan out my episodes two weeks in advance. Gives me time to edit and breathing room in case something happens #thepennydreadful
Doublelattemama: @TPDonline hiya everybody – not sure if I can stay but wanted to at least say hi! #thepennydreadful
Wisneski: For Gn’G, I have the beginning (guy wakes up and it’s the end of the world)…I have the key points (which I cannot share) #thepennydreadful
TPDonline: @Doublelattemama *waves* Hi there!!! 🙂 #thepennydreadful
Wisneski: From there, I just read last week’s episode and think “what’s John going to do now?” and let the story go… #thepennydreadful
Wisneski: @TPDonline all of the above! I have a black bag FULL of notebooks for different projects. #thepennydreadful
Wisneski: @TPDonline And a posterboard next to the bathroom so I can take notes on anything while I getting ready for work, bed, etc #thepennydreadful
mariblaser: *bottle(s) ready to pour* 🙂 RT @AnneTylerLord: #thepennydreadful Yay! Pass it around for a Happy Bday toast to Jim!
Wisneski: Where’s @JodiMacArthur – we have wine! 🙂 #thepennydreadful
TPDonline: @Wisneski one of the things we love about your work is a willingness to experiment with other media, theme songs, podcasts #thepennydreadful
mariblaser: @Wisneski Having a notebook nearby is an excellent way of keeping alert to new ideas. I see why you’re so prolific. 😉 #thepennydreadful
TPDonline: @Wisneski what do you use for composing and recording those? #thepennydreadful
Wisneski: @TPDonline Well, I’ve been playing guitar since I was six. And I LOVE any instrument I can get my hands on… #thepennydreadful
Wisneski: @TPDonline I have a fourt track recorder and basic editing software. My weapons? … #thepennydreadful
Wisneski: @TPDonline 11 guitars. 1 mandolin. 1 ukelele. 1 keyboard. 1 drum set. 1 harmonicas. #thepennydreadful
Wisneski: @TPDonline 11 guitars. 1 mandolin. 1 ukelele. 1 keyboard. 1 drum set. 2 harmonicas. #thepennydreadful
Wisneski: @mariblaser I have to have notebooks… can’t imagine losing good ideas. #thepennydreadful
AnneTylerLord: when you get an idea/inspiration how do you decide if it will be song, poetry or something else #thepennydreadful #thepennydreadful
Wisneski: For the Gn’G theme song, I wanted something that made you think of a man looking out to a vast desert. #thepennydreadful
TPDonline: @Wisneski *lol* my handwriting is so bad, I had to ditch my notebooks in exchange for a netbook 🙂 #thepennydreadful
Wisneski: If anyone hasn’t heard the Gn’G theme song I wrote, here it is: http://bit.ly/9o4CX7 #thepennydreadful
Wisneski: @TPDonline Oh I have BRUTAL handwriting… takes me days to figure things out sometimes! #thepennydreadful
TPDonline: the theme song is great, just like Ennio Marcone from the spaghetti westerns! #thepennydreadful
lil_monmon: Hello all. Sorry I’m late. Sick in bed. #thepennydreadful
Wisneski: @TPDonline Thanks! Took me 30 minutes to write, record, and master it. #thepennydreadful
TPDonline: @lil_monmon aww, sorry to hear you’re not well, but glad you could join us! @wisneski is the author today 🙂 #thepennydreadful
Wisneski: @lil_monmon Hey! #thepennydreadful
mariblaser: Yup, I know how you feel. I did loose some… RT @Wisneski: @mariblaser can’t imagine losing good ideas. #thepennydreadful
AnneTylerLord: @Wisneski very cool theme song – wish I had one #thepennydreadful
TPDonline: @Wisneski where do you get your ideas for stories, characters? what inspires you? #thepennydreadful
mariblaser: Sorry to hear that! *sending healing vibes* 🙂 //Yup, I’m a “vibe-girl” heh RT @lil_monmon: Sick in bed. #thepennydreadful
Wisneski: @TPDonline I’m obsessed with horror. All aspects – from the Michael Myers killers to zombies. #thepennydreadful
Wisneski: @TPDonline What I try to do is figure out a way to present so it’s not (1) boring or (2) cliche. #thepennydreadful
Wisneski: @AnneTylerLord I can write you a theme song! 🙂 #thepennydreadful
Wisneski: @TPDonline AND I ask myself, ‘what scares me?’ What makes me turn on the light BEFORE I get into the bathroom. Haha. #thepennydreadful
AnneTylerLord: RT @Wisneski: @TPDonline What I try to do is figure a way to present so its not(1) boring or(2) cliche.// you’ve succeeded #thepennydreadful
oodja: Just listened- fantastic! RT @AnneTylerLord: @Wisneski very cool theme song – wish I had one #thepennydreadful
Wisneski: @AnneTylerLord Thanks! I try… and I refuse to put out anything that I feel is crap… #thepennydreadful
AnneTylerLord: RT @Wisneski: @AnneTylerLord I can write you a theme song! :)// Oh, really? *jumps up and down!!* #thepennydreadful
Wisneski: @AnneTylerLord Just because it’s the internet and just because it’s free doesn’t mean it should lack meaning and value! #thepennydreadful
mariblaser: Cool! RT @Wisneski: If anyone hasn’t heard the Gn’G theme song I wrote, here it is: http://bit.ly/9o4CX7 #thepennydreadful
Wisneski: @oodja Thanks! #thepennydreadful
lil_monmon: RT @Wisneski: @TPDonline AND I ask myself, ‘what scares me?’ What makes me turn on the light BEFORE I get into the bathroom. Haha. #thepennydreadful
Wisneski: @JodiMacArthur Glad you’re here! Did you bring the coffee mugs? #thepennydreadful
mariblaser: Perfect definition to horror. RT @Wisneski: @TPDonline What makes me turn on the light BEFORE I get into the bathroom. #thepennydreadful
TPDonline: *lol!* RT @Wisneski: AND I ask myself, what scares me? What makes me turn on the light BEFORE I get into the bathroom. #thepennydreadful
AnneTylerLord: I gotta pick up the kids-will catch up on feed later-thanks Jim & Happy Birthday *still jumping about theme song* #thepennydreadful
Wisneski: It has to scare me to scare you, right??? 🙂 #thepennydreadful
Wisneski: @AnneTylerLord Thanks for being here! You and everyone else have me blushing that you like the writing and music! 🙂 #thepennydreadful
lil_monmon: @Wisneski music question: what program do you use to upload music to the interwebs? #thepennydreadful
AnneTylerLord: RT @JodiMacArthur: @Wisneski Theme song for Anne’s work would be truly awesome. #thepennydreadful // My Kaszinov Mafia family!!
TPDonline: @Wisneski Where did the idea for Guns n’ Graves come from? I’m a fan of the old westerns, so I’d love to know 🙂 #thepennydreadful
Wisneski: @lil_monmon I go through Hipcast.com. It’s $5/mo and I can do audio AND video. AND it works with iTunes if you podcast. #thepennydreadful
AnneTylerLord: RT @Wisneski: @AnneTylerLord You and everyone else have me blushing -you like the writing and music! 🙂 #thepennydreadful //well-deserved!
Wisneski: @JodiMacArthur Yes, check out the song!!!!! #thepennydreadful
TPDonline: Nice! RT @Wisneski: I go through Hipcast.com. Its $5/mo & can do audio & video. AND it works with iTunes if you podcast. #thepennydreadful
Wisneski: @TPDonline As I said I love zombies. And I love stories that pick up IN THE ACTION. So… #thepennydreadful
Wisneski: @TPDonline So I thought what would happen if a regular guy went to sleep on a bench and woke up and the world was a desert #thepennydreadful
TPDonline: @JodiMacArthur – we’re not seeing your questions to jim, don’t forget the hashtag! 🙂 #thepennydreadful
Wisneski: @TPDonline And not just a desert but one where the dead were rising… and there were mirages… and demons… #thepennydreadful
lil_monmon: @Wisneski Were there any ghoulies or ghosties or 3-leggy beasties that terrified you as a kid? #thepennydreadful
Wisneski: And face it, westerns are cool. Zombies are cool. Why not mix ’em? #thepennydreadful
Wisneski: @lil_monmon Zelda from Pete Semetary will HAUNT me forever! #thepennydreadful
Wisneski: @lil_monmon And actually, Pet Semetary is what create this monster of me writing. It is the most important movie for me. #thepennydreadful
Wisneski: @lil_monmon I saw it first when I was about seven and it still gives me chills… hell, my background on my computer… #thepennydreadful
Wisneski: @lil_monmon …is Judd Crandell from the movie as he’s standing under the sign! #thepennydreadful
mariblaser: @JodiMacArthur You’re most welcome. : ) #thepennydreadful
lil_monmon: @Wisneski Oo! I read Pet Semetary 5 years ago. I thought I was tough and could handle it but…*jibbly-jibbly* Good answer #thepennydreadful
lauraeno: @Wisneski Never saw the movie but the book has always stuck in my mind! #thepennydreadful
TPDonline: @Wisneski cujo was the one that got me – could never finish it! (and I like big dogs! 🙂 #thepennydreadful
mariblaser: Yes, action! 😀 RT @Wisneski: @TPDonline As I said I love zombies. And I love stories that pick up IN THE ACTION. So… #thepennydreadful
Wisneski: As a kid I never read comics or collected action hero things, I read horror novels and listened to Guns n’ Roses! #thepennydreadful
mariblaser: @Wisneski What’s the thing about zombies? I never got that, to be honest… #thepennydreadful
Wisneski: @mariblaser It’s just about the undead walking… the idea of someone crawling out of the ground… #thepennydreadful
mariblaser: Everything is slow in the land of wine. How fitting. *snort* #thepennydreadful
Wisneski: @mariblaser I don’t write zombies as these mindless creatures that eat brains… I make ’em into a real villian! #thepennydreadful
lil_monmon: @Wisneski I know you write music for your stories, but do any rock-bands like GnR feature on your mental playlist? #thepennydreadful
Wisneski: @lil_monmon I wake up and fall asleep to Welcome to the Jungle playing in my mind! 🙂 #thepennydreadful
mariblaser: So, you don’t find brains yummy at all? lol RT @Wisneski: @mariblaser the idea of someone crawling out of the ground… #thepennydreadful
Wisneski: @lil_monmon I’m married with two kids and I have a Slash poster next to my bed… my blood is rock n’ roll! #thepennydreadful
TPDonline: @Wisneski I believe your other serial, Living Lost, has zombies too. Can you tell us a bit more about that? #thepennydreadful
Wisneski: @mariblaser Depends on the person! #thepennydreadful
Wisneski: @lil_monmon Anytime I write, there’s always music in my mind. #thepennydreadful
mariblaser: @Wisneski Hmm, now you got my attention. 😉 #thepennydreadful
Wisneski: @TPDonline Living Lost is a band – Gage, Val, Jack, and Tiny. The story is told by Gage Sloane who is lead guitar/singer #thepennydreadful
mariblaser: You should meet @WestofMars . She’s all rock’n roll too! RT @Wisneski: @lil_monmon my blood is rock n’ roll! #thepennydreadful
Wisneski: @TPDonline He is sentenced to kill the undead and demons that are trying to take over the world. #thepennydreadful
Wisneski: @TPDonline And he writes music in the process for the band! (via me!) #thepennydreadful
mariblaser: Lol RT @Wisneski: @mariblaser Depends on the person! #thepennydreadful
lil_monmon: RT @Wisneski @lil_monmon Anytime I write, there’s always music in my mind. #thepennydreadful –you’re a kindred spirit, I think : )
Wisneski: @TPDonline The undead are these big monster creatures that bite other people to turn them into the undead. #thepennydreadful
mariblaser: Me too! Especially if villain, heh 😉 RT @JodiMacArthur: @Wisneski someone crawling out of the ground //Yikes! I like it. #thepennydreadful
lil_monmon: @Wisneski Sweet Premise! I noticed a Character named Gage. Tribute to Pet Semetary? Or was it a Ziggy? #thepennydreadful
Wisneski: @lil_monmon TOTAL tribute to Pet Semetary! #thepennydreadful
Wisneski: @mariblaser And don’t forget that zombie are thought to be real… carribean witches taking over souls and rising the dead #thepennydreadful
Wisneski: For Living Lost I like being able to write four musical parts for each band member – I feel like I’m in a band again! #thepennydreadful
lil_monmon: @Wisneski That’s funny. I created an evil vampire named Gage for the same reason. *LOL* #thepennydreadful
Wisneski: @lil_monmon Haha, that’s great! #thepennydreadful
TPDonline: @Wisneski any hints about the stories for your upcoming, twilight zone inspired podcast “Dark Movements”? #thepennydreadful
mariblaser: There’s the zombie bacteria too. RT @Wisneski: @mariblaser And don’t forget that zombie are thought to be real… #thepennydreadful
Wisneski: For Living Lost, I have the story posted along with the music and the lyrics… http://bit.ly/cp9LOW #thepennydreadful
lil_monmon: @Wisneski Do you rely a lot on actual zombie legend or do you give it your own twist? (aside from them being sentient) #thepennydreadful
Wisneski: @TPDonline Dark Movements… I’ve been listening to LOTS of old 40’s, 50’s radio like Suspense and The Shadow #thepennydreadful
Wisneski: @lil_monmon I do both. #thepennydreadful
mariblaser: I”m being dragged by the ear to deal with… dishes? Be right b… oh #thepennydreadful
Wisneski: @TPDonline I want it authentic. It has a theme song. It has music in the story with noises… for example… #thepennydreadful
Wisneski: @TPDonline For Ep. 1 – the guy hears voices. Voice 1 will be heard in your left ear while Voice 2 will be in your right #thepennydreadful
lil_monmon: RT @Wisneski: For Living Lost, I have the story posted along with the music and the lyrics… http://bit.ly/cp9LOW #thepennydreadful
Wisneski: @TPDonline Makes you think you’re going crazy along with the guy! #thepennydreadful
TPDonline: @Wisneski now that’s cool, playing with stereo effects for the voices! #thepennydreadful
lauraeno: Did zombies get Mari? #thepennydreadful
Wisneski: @TPDonline Yea, it’s fun. Ep. 1 is recorded I just need to add effects and master it. #thepennydreadful
lil_monmon: @Wisneski Good GRAVY that’s cool! \m/ (>.<) \m/ #thepennydreadful
TPDonline: Wow, time flies! The hour is almost up, any more questions for Jim? #thepennydreadful
Wisneski: Ep. 1 of Dark Movements should be out within the next week or two #thepennydreadful
TPDonline: Of course, you are all welcome to continue hanging out and chatting here after the official chat ends 🙂 #thepennydreadful
TPDonline: outstanding! Can’t wait to hear it! RT @Wisneski: Ep. 1 of Dark Movements should be out within the next week or two #thepennydreadful
Wisneski: Wow, thanks so much to everyone for being here. You guys make it all worth it! I’m flattered! 🙂 #thepennydreadful
lauraeno: @TPDonline Thanks to you and to Jim! #thepennydreadful
TPDonline: Thank you again, Jim, for coming out today, and Happy Birthday! We’re so glad to have you as a part of TPD! @Wisneski #thepennydreadful
mariblaser: I’m here! Ouch, that hurt. *rubbing right ear lobe* RT @lauraeno: Did zombies get Mari? #thepennydreadful
Wisneski: @TPDonline And thanks to you for hosting such a great project. Glad to be apart of it! #thepennydreadful
TPDonline: Don’t forget, you can find stories and more by @wisneski on http://TPDonline.wordpress.com #thepennydreadful
Wisneski: RT @TPDonline: Dont forget, you can find stories and more by @wisneski on http://TPDonline.wordpress.com #thepennydreadful
TPDonline: and http://www.jimwisneski.com http://www.jimwisneski.wordpress.com http://www.livinglostband.wordpress.com http://www.softwhisp.blogspot.com #thepennydreadful
lil_monmon: RT @TPDonline: Don’t forget, you can find stories and more by @wisneski on http://TPDonline.wordpress.com #thepennydreadful
mariblaser: @Wisneski Tell me about ur villain zombies? How are they different frm the pathetic brain-eating… ok, that’s enough, heh #thepennydreadful
lauraeno: @mariblaser *clinks glasses with you* #thepennydreadful
mariblaser: RT @TPDonline: Don’t forget, you can find stories and more by @wisneski on http://TPDonline.wordpress.com #thepennydreadful
Wisneski: @mariblaser Like I said, I make them bigger, stronger, REAL killers. #thepennydreadful
TPDonline: Watch @TPDonline and #thepennydreadful for announcements of new episodes and upcoming chats #thepennydreadful
Wisneski: @mariblaser The true villain is the FEAR of it all. #thepennydreadful
mariblaser: *clink* 😀 RT @lauraeno: @mariblaser *clinks glasses with you* #thepennydreadful
mariblaser: Oh *looks for exit* RT @JodiMacArthur: @lauraeno If I were a @wisneski zombie. I’d definitely go for @mariblaser first. #thepennydreadful
TPDonline: Woohoo, I think that’s a wrap. Thank you @wisneski, and let’s pour the wine! (oh wait, we already started that! *lol*) #thepennydreadful
Wisneski: Yes, thanks again everyone. It’s Daddy time with my son so I’m out for now! 🙂 #thepennydreadful
lauraeno: Heh heh 😉 RT @JodiMacArthur: @lauraeno If I were a @wisneski zombie. I’d definitely go for @mariblaser first. #thepennydreadful
mariblaser: Way cooler zombies! Must read! http://bit.ly/8XHgrE RT @Wisneski: @mariblaser I make them bigger, stronger, REAL killers. #thepennydreadful
mariblaser: Hehe, thanks, but it’s @lauraeno& @JodiMacArthur ‘s doing. 😉 RT @Wisneski: @mariblaser HAHA that’s too funny! #thepennydreadful
TPDonline: Thanks everyone for coming out! Transcripts will be up later tonight, and we’ll see you next week! 🙂 #thepennydreadful
mariblaser: Till we *clink* again! 😀 RT @TPDonline: Transcripts will be up later tonight, and we’ll see you next week! 🙂 #thepennydreadful
Wisneski: RT @TPDonline: Thanks everyone for coming out! Transcripts will be up later tonight, and we’ll see you next week! 🙂 #thepennydreadful
One Comment leave one →
  1. May 5, 2010 12:54 pm

    Oh, very cool! Interesting to hear Jim talk about the ‘ins and outs’ of his thought process and inspiration for these dark zombie stories. It’s easier to write about real life. I think that’s why I’m in awe of authors like Jim. That takes real talent.:-)

    He took me back a bit with the radio stories of the 40’s and 50’s. I can’t wait to read “Dark Movements.”

    Great chat, TPD:-)

Leave a Reply

