Skip to content

Chat with Cecilia Dominic

April 28, 2010

Transcripts of the chat with Cecilia Dominic{aka @randomoenophile} –  author of the series “Always a Bridesmaid”–  held Tuesday, April the 27th, 2010.

RandomOenophile: RT @techtigger: chat w/author @RandomOenophile at #thepennydreadful in 10 mins.
TPDonline: She blogs about stories (and wine!) at Random Oenophile http://ow.ly/1DQkE. You can find her Series at #ThePennydreadful http://ow.ly/1DQnf
techtigger: woohoo, let’s get this party/chat rolling! 🙂 #thepennydreadful
lil_monmon: @RandomOenophile is doing Author chat on #thepennydreadful aboooooooooouuuuuuuut……NOW!
TPDonline: So Hello and a big welcome to @randomoenophile. Hi Cecilia, I hope you are ready to rock this joint today 🙂 #Thepennydreadful
RandomOenophile: @TPDonline I’ve got my tunes going on Pandora and cake with seriously sugary icing, so yes! #thepennydreadful
RandomOenophile: Let me know if TweetDeck is too slow, and I’ll switch to a web chat window. #thepennydreadful
techtigger: @RandomOenophile webchats are moving slow too – usual twitter-bog ;P #thepennydreadful
techtigger: @RandomOenophile so, diving right in – why tell your story from POV of outsider, instead of the bride? 🙂 #thepennydreadful
mariblaser: Hello, hello! I”m here, and I’ve got wine. Hee! 😀 #thepennydreadful
TPDonline: Oh everything slow on twitter today, like wading through molasses 😦 so we’re all at the same speed, cruise control #thepennydreadful
marisabirns: Hello all! Loving the kitty with the bottles avatar @RandomOenophile. #thepennydreadful
techtigger: btw, her series, Always a Bridesmaid, will have its final episode posted at of chat at https://tpdonline.wordpress.com #thepennydreadful
RandomOenophile: @techtigger Good question! I don’t know if anyone caught it, but AAB was LOOSELY based on the Bible’s book of Tobit. #thepennydreadful
RandomOenophile: And TIffany was the more interesting character for me, anyway, especially once it became apparent that she had secrets. #thepennydreadful
TPDonline: Hi @mariblaser !! Wine and an oenophile! We’re in for a rollercoaster ride! #thepennydreadful
RandomOenophile: :waves to the Mari-girls: Glad y’all came! #thepennydreadful
RandomOenophile: @TPDonline Whoops missed that one. I’ve been writing since I was a kid. My mom has my first story. I was 2. #thepennydreadful
lastsyllable: @RandomOenophile So does this mean we get to drink during the interview this time? #thepennydreadful
TPDonline: hehehe I like that! RT @RandomOenophile :waves to the Mari-girls: Glad y’all came! #thepennydreadful
techtigger: @RandomOenophile wow, man-cakes, brownies, talking fish and the book of tobit. The mind boggles! *lol* #thepennydreadful
TPDonline: I didnt! that’s so cool! RT @RandomOenophile Dunno if anyone caught it, AAB LOOSELY based on the Bible’s book of Tobit. #thepennydreadful
marisabirns: @TPDonline Glad to be here, though Twitter seems hell bent on making it a hard journey! 😀 #Thepennydreadful
RandomOenophile: @lastsyllable As long as the ones in charge don’t mind! And if so, we’ll pour under the table. 🙂 #thepennydreadful
lil_monmon: @RandomOenophile You mentioned you were eating a delicious cake. Do you have a preferred “brain food” while writing? #thepennydreadful
gracecrone: @RandomOenophile I’ll be sorry to see this series end. So delightful. #thepennydreadful
RandomOenophile: @techtigger Yeah, the Random thing isn’t an accident. That’s sometimes how it goes inside my head. You can ask @leoghann. #thepennydreadful
TPDonline: @RandomOenophile 2 years old!!! I think i was generally brainless when I was two! that is amazing! #thepennydreadful. &you’ve never stopped!
RandomOenophile: The kind in a glass. 😉 Or coffee. RT @lil_monmon: Do you have a preferred “brain food” while writing?#thepennydreadful #thepennydreadful
mariblaser: Hehe. *pouring* 😉 RT @TPDonline: Hi @mariblaser !! Wine and an oenophile! We’re in for a rollercoaster ride! #thepennydreadful
RandomOenophile: @gracecrone Thank you! It was fun to write. TPD has really kept me on track with it. #thepennydreadful
mariblaser: Thanks! Am most curious to know about your serial. 🙂 RT @RandomOenophile: :waves to the Mari-girls: Glad y’all came! #thepennydreadful
RandomOenophile: @TPDonline Thanks! I’m not like Mozart. The early attempts weren’t very good. #thepennydreadful
techtigger: @lastsyllable sure, you can drink as long as you save the singing and loud ‘I love you man’s’ until after the chat 😉 #thepennydreadful
lastsyllable: @techtigger I’ll be on my best behavior, promise! #thepennydreadful
lil_monmon: @RandomOenophile you have some of THE BEST dialogue. Anything in particular you try to keep in mind w. writing dialogue? #thepennydreadful
techtigger: @RandomOenophile how did you come up with idea for this series? what inspired you to write it? #thepennydreadful
RandomOenophile: @lil_monmon :blush: TY! I write it like I hear it in my head. I’m a big eavesdropper — it fascinates me how people talk. #thepennydreadful
TPDonline: Good Q RT @lil_monmon @RandomOenophile you have some of THE BEST dialogue. Anything advice w. writing dialogue? #thepennydreadful
RandomOenophile: @techtigger The first line came into my head and wouldn’t go away. Once I started, the Tobit idea gave me the structure. #thepennydreadful
mariblaser: I love when it happens. 🙂 RT @RandomOenophile: @techtigger The first line came into my head and wouldn’t go away. #thepennydreadful
mariblaser: Yes please! RT @TPDonline: Good Q RT @lil_monmon @RandomOenophile Anything advice w. writing dialogue? #thepennydreadful
RandomOenophile: Me, too! Startings and endings are hard. RT @mariblaser: I love when it happens. 🙂 RT The first line came into my head… #thepennydreadful
RandomOenophile: I’d never thought to write a serial until I started participating in #fridayflash, and @techtigger inspired me with hers. #thepennydreadful
TPDonline: @RandomOenophile Endings are hard for me. It is sort of like the carrot. Can’t write without a good ending in hand #thepennydreadful
lil_monmon: @RandomOenophile Any authors that have inspired you? (an old chestnut, I know, but I’m curious) #thepennydreadful
techtigger: @RandomOenophile another one hooked on serials! *muhwaahaahhaa!* ….ooh, wait, did I tweet that out loud? oops… 😉 #thepennydreadful
mariblaser: @RandomOenophile Yeah, I guess the start is even harder. Must grab the reader by the eye/neck/ear, whatever, heh. #thepennydreadful
RandomOenophile: I feel like my dialogue flows best when I know my characters really well. It helps me “hear” them.@mariblaser @lil_monmon #thepennydreadful
TPDonline: @RandomOenophile Do you have writing routine/schedule/ritual? #thepennydreadful
RandomOenophile: @lil_monmon The three Anne’s: McCaffrey, Patchett, and George (Southern mysteries). M for characters & world-building,esp #thepennydreadful
TPDonline: @techtigger ROFLMAO!! @RandomOenophile *muhwaahaahhaa!* ….ooh, wait, did I tweet that out loud? oops… 😉 #thepennydreadful
RandomOenophile: I wish. 🙂 Usually evenings and weekends, but nothing set. RT @TPDonline: Do you have writing routine/schedule/ritual? #thepennydreadful
mariblaser: Yeah, each char has a unique voice. Adds fun, heh. RT @RandomOenophile: It helps me “hear” them.@mariblaser @lil_monmon #thepennydreadful
RandomOenophile: @TPDonline Scheduling is something I struggle with. Now I’m trying weekly goals to beat the procrastination monster. #thepennydreadful
lil_monmon: @RandomOenophile I knew you were a Pratchett girl!! Bwa-ha-ha-ha!! 😄 #thepennydreadful
lil_monmon: @RandomOenophile Follow-up to the character question. How do you keep your characters on track? #thepennydreadful
mariblaser: Hehe, I understand you. 😉 RT @so_you_know: @RandomOenophile i am queen of starting and ending–middle–“my dog ate it” #thepennydreadful
techtigger: @RandomOenophile do you have other writing projects in the works? #thepennydreadful
RandomOenophile: Motivation: I get inspired by books on writing as well as @WritersDigest and The Writer magazine. And my Twitter friends. #thepennydreadful
TPDonline: Scratch that let’s answer @lil_monmon first 🙂 How do you keep your characters on track? #thepennydreadful
RandomOenophile: @TPDonline I will go through phases when I feel “stuck,” and then I’ll read or do something small. #thepennydreadful
RandomOenophile: I’m so glad my characters seem to stay on track! 😉 Clear motivations help, although for AAB, Amber was the challenge. #thepennydreadful
RandomOenophile: @lil_monmon I’m kind of a pantser. Okay, I’m a big pantser with writing. Luckily my characters have their own agendas. #thepennydreadful
RandomOenophile: @mariblaser @so_you_know Cats make for crappy homework excuses, but one did throw up on a critique group members’ work. #thepennydreadful
RandomOenophile: @mariblaser I have it bookmarked, but haven’t read it yet. :blush: #irony #thepennydreadful
TPDonline: @RandomOenophile Your characters are so vibrant. they pop off the page, even the minor ones. Love that! #thepennydreadful.
TPDonline: LOL! RT @RandomOenophile Cats make for crappy homework excuses, but one did throw up on a critique group members’ work. #thepennydreadful
RandomOenophile: @TPDonline Thank you! Sometimes they pop in fully formed, s/t they take work. Have no idea where the catfish came from. #thepennydreadful
marisabirns: @TPDonline Yes all your characters are vibrant, even the piscine one! #thepennydreadful
mariblaser: @RandomOenophile Oh, no blushing, please! I feel bad enough pointing everyone there when a writing schedule comes up, heh. #thepennydreadful
techtigger: @RandomOenophile think twitter ate my post (spit it out!) Any new projects coming up for you? #thepennydreadful
RandomOenophile: @marisabirns TY! I was pleasantly surprised that Bert ended up being a favorite. #thepennydreadful
RandomOenophile: @techtigger My next TPD project will be a sci-fi serial. Am working on characters and world now. Also revising novel #3. #thepennydreadful
mariblaser: Oh, do tell about the catfish! I thought it was another project? RT @RandomOenophile: no idea where the catfish came from. #thepennydreadful
RandomOenophile: And since @TonyNoland posted his #fridayflash article, I’m moving the serials to a different day and will do sep flashes. #thepennydreadful
TPDonline: @RandomOenophile sci fi serial! yay! we need more sci fi! #thepennydreadful!
techtigger: @RandomOenophile fantastic! 🙂 Can you tell us about your novels? #thepennydreadful
RandomOenophile: @mariblaser He’s a guardian spirit. He’s also a loudmouth and serves sort of a Greek chorus function. And comic relief. #thepennydreadful
lil_monmon: Yeah, Bert’s my fav too. RT@RandomOenophile @marisabirns TY! I was … surprised that Bert ended up being a favorite. #thepennydreadful
lauraeno: Hi! Better late than never, huh? #thepennydreadful!
RandomOenophile: @lauraeno :waves: Welcome! #thepennydreadful
mariblaser: Curious! RT @RandomOenophile: guardian spirit. also a loudmouth and serves sort of a Greek chorus function + comic relief #thepennydreadful
RandomOenophile: @techtigger Wow, trying to condense them to 140 characters or less is tough. Will try, though. #thepennydreadful
mariblaser: HURRA! hehe RT @TPDonline: @mariblaser Cavalry to the ready! @thepennydreadful. We plow those bots down at sunrise!! 😀
marisabirns: @lauraeno Saved a seat for you. 🙂 #thepennydreadful
RandomOenophile: Wolfsbane Manor, a suspense: Joni Fisher inherits her grandfather’s estate, a pack of werewolves, and a handsome butler. #thepennydreadful
mariblaser: Hi there! 🙂 RT @RandomOenophile: @lauraeno :waves: Welcome! #thepennydreadful
RandomOenophile: Perchance to Dream: urban fantasy, the walls of the Collective Unconscious are cracking, and goddesses go disappearing #thepennydreadful
RandomOenophile: A Perfect Man: meta-romance. Art imitates life, but life is much stranger for a class of genre fiction MFA students. #thepennydreadful
RandomOenophile: Yep, I’m a genre-hopper. 🙂 #thepennydreadful
gracecrone: @RandomOenophile Genre-hopper just means you have a gr8 imagination. #thepennydreadful
lauraeno: What is a meta-romance? #thepennydreadful
RandomOenophile: @TDPOnline I think this is Tony’s article: http://is.gd/bfBZO #thepennydreadful
mariblaser: @RandomOenophile Woman, you know how to pitch. Am envious, but happy for you. Am sure you’ll sell soon w/ those pitches 🙂 #thepennydreadful
TPDonline: @RandomOenophile You had me at handsome butler “Oh Alfred!” 🙂 where do we read these? 😀 #thepennydreadful
RandomOenophile: @lauraeno It’s a romance novel about people who are writing romance novels. 🙂 #thepennydreadful
RandomOenophile: @mariblaser Thank you! And thanks @techtigger — that was a good exercise. Need a drink now… #thepennydreadful
marisabirns: @RandomOenophile Good for you! Your books sound awesome. #thepennydreadful
RandomOenophile: @TPDonline Alas, Wolfsbane Manor just went down in flames in the ABNA contest. Didn’t make the 2nd cut. 😦 #thepennydreadful
mariblaser: Yup. Agreed. 🙂 RT @gracecrone: @RandomOenophile Genre-hopper just means you have a gr8 imagination. #thepennydreadful
lil_monmon: @RandomOenophile Wow! Those all sound like a lot of fun! X3 #thepennydreadful
techtigger: @RandomOenophile genre-hopping is no bad thing, always fun to explore other types of stories! #thepennydreadful
TPDonline: So true! RT @gracecrone @RandomOenophile Genre-hopper just means you have a gr8 imagination. #thepennydreadful
lauraeno: Agreed! RT @marisabirns: @RandomOenophile Good for you! Your books sound awesome. #thepennydreadful
TPDonline: ooh thanks! RT @RandomOenophile @TDPOnline I think this is Tony’s article: http://is.gd/bfBZO #thepennydreadful
RandomOenophile: Thanks, y’all! Am working on getting back into the agent query game. #thepennydreadful
mariblaser: *pours prosecco* We need to celebrate. 😉 RT @RandomOenophile: that was a good exercise. Need a drink now… #thepennydreadful
lil_monmon: @RandomOenophile This might be a weird Q: do you have any stock character achetypes you feel comfortable with? #thepennydreadful
RandomOenophile: @mariblaser Oooh, Prosecco! Thank you! Cheers! #thepennydreadful
mariblaser: Interesting question RT @lil_monmon: @RandomOenophile do you have any stock character achetypes you feel comfortable with? #thepennydreadful
RandomOenophile: @lil_monmon Hmmm… I don’t usually think in archetypes, but more in personality types. Will have to ponder that one. #thepennydreadful
RandomOenophile: @lil_monmon I’ll use Myers-Briggs personality types sometimes. Helps a lot with motivations. #thepennydreadful
mariblaser: Cheers! 🙂 RT @RandomOenophile: @mariblaser Oooh, Prosecco! Thank you! Cheers! #thepennydreadful
RandomOenophile: @lil_monmon Do you have any favorite archetypes? #thepennydreadful
techtigger: interesting, never thought of doing that RT @RandomOenophile: Ill use Myers-Briggs personality types sometimes. #thepennydreadful
mariblaser: Uh? Lost here? RT @RandomOenophile: @lil_monmon I’ll use Myers-Briggs personality types sometimes. #thepennydreadful
lil_monmon: @RandomOenophile My main characters tend to be men in their later 30s to early 50s. They’re cynical, but with heart. #thepennydreadful
TPDonline: @mariblaser INTP INFP etc 🙂 complicated 4 a tweet but google it, you can find your own type 2. Some free tests there too @thepennydreadful
lil_monmon: @RandomOenophile I like to pair my MC with another character who motivates/irritates him. It’s a lot like me & my brother. #thepennydreadful
RandomOenophile: @mariblaser Oh, crap, I’ve lost my MBTI links. Will find some for you later. It’s a personality assessment tool. #thepennydreadful
RandomOenophile: @lil_monmon LOL That makes sense. I loosely based a character on my sister @ivy_star, but in a good way. #thepennydreadful
mariblaser: @TPDonline @RandomOenophile Oh, I think I know now! I’ve had the test, but never thought of using types for characters! #thepennydreadful
marisabirns: @lil_monmon That makes sense. Yin and yang with MC and other character. #thepennydreadful
techtigger: @RandomOenophile our hour is almost up, but do you have any hints about your upcoming sci-fi series? #thepennydreadful
lil_monmon: @RandomOenophile My brother is my writing partner for my comics. I only started going solo in 2008. Your sister writes? #thepennydreadful
RandomOenophile: @techtigger You’ll be seeing Professor Thurston and Debtra from my recent #fridayflash and their world and problems. #thepennydreadful
TPDonline: Few more mins left for the chat to officially end. Last few questions? of course everyone is free to chat happily after #thepennydreadful 🙂
RandomOenophile: @lil_monmon I keep encouraging her to. 🙂 #thepennydreadful
TPDonline: @RandomOenophile Any messages for your faithful and eager readers & fans? #thepennydreadful
gracecrone: Thanks for chat. Lots of good info about character inspiration. Look forward to new series. @RandomOenophile 🙂 #thepennydreadful
TPDonline: @RandomOenophile How do you feel being part of this blossoming project that is The penny dreadful? #thepennydreadful
lauraeno: RT @RandomOenophile: @lil_monmon I keep encouraging her to. 🙂 #thepennydreadful
RandomOenophile: @TPDonline I’m really happy to be a part of TPD. It’s really helped keep me focused on this project and w scene structure. #thepennydreadful
mariblaser: 😀 RT @TPDonline: @RandomOenophile How do you feel being part of this blossoming project that is The penny dreadful? #thepennydreadful
RandomOenophile: I’m just thrilled to have eager readers and fans. 🙂 The chats and everyone’s writing and feedback are great inspiration! #thepennydreadful
RandomOenophile: (forgot the hashtag with that second answer) #thepennydreadful
RandomOenophile: @gracecrone Thank you for coming! #thepennydreadful
marisabirns: @RandomOenophile Look forward to reading more of your projects! Thanks for the chat. 🙂 #thepennydreadful
TPDonline: RT @RandomOenophile @TPDOnline I’m just thrilled to have eager readers and fans. 🙂 #thepennydreadful
techtigger: @RandomOenophile we are certainly glad to have you as part of TPD! Can’t wait to read the finale of Always a Bridesmaid! #thepennydreadful
gracecrone: @RandomOenophile It’s been lots of fun. 🙂 #thepennydreadful
lauraeno: It’s been great chatting with you! @RandomOenophile #thepennydreadful
RandomOenophile: @techtigger Thank you! Just posted it to The Penny Dreadful now. #thepennydreadful
TPDonline: RT @techtigger @RandomOenophile we are certainly glad to have you as part of TPD! Can’t wait to read the finale of AAB! #thepennydreadful
RandomOenophile: @lauraeno Thanks, Laura! You, too! #thepennydreadful
TPDonline: With that lovely note from @randomoenophile, we officially conclude chat. Thanks for being with us today cecilia! #thepennydreadful
mariblaser: Yay! I’ll get to read the full series then! 😀 RT @RandomOenophile: @techtigger posted it to The Penny Dreadful now. #thepennydreadful
RandomOenophile: I’m afraid I have to run, but thanks for coming and for the great questions and Prosecco! 🙂 Thanks @TDPOnline ! #thepennydreadful
TPDonline: @RandomOenophile Was good to have you along as part of our project and had lots of fun today. #thepennydreadful
TPDonline: Once again, you can find @randomOenophile at #thepennydreadful http://ow.ly/1DQkE with her AAB series, whose finale is today! Tune in!
ivy_star: @RandomOenophile @lilmonmon wait… Wat? Which one!!!?! *squee*!!! #thepennydreadful
mariblaser: Thanks for the great chat! 🙂 RT @RandomOenophile: thanks for coming and for the great questions TTanks @TDPOnline ! #thepennydreadful
techtigger: @RandomOenophile added it to the weekly roundup, and we’ll have the transcripts from today’s chat up this evening! #thepennydreadful
mariblaser: RT @TPDonline: find @randomOenophile at #thepennydreadful http://ow.ly/1DQkE with her AAB series, whose finale is today! Tune in!
TPDonline: Follow @thepennydreadful hashtag or @TPDOnline for transcripts, more stories & lotsa fun! Thanks everyone for being here! have a great day!
lauraeno: RT @TPDonline: Once again, you can find @randomOenophile at #thepennydreadful http://ow.ly/1DQkE with her AAB series, whose finale is today!
ivy_star: @lil_monmon I write, but am more into the video blog, can’t hold a candle to the awesomenes that is @randomoenophile #thepennydreadful #late
ivy_star: RT @TPDonline: Once again, you can find @randomOenophile at #thepennydreadful http://ow.ly/1DQkE with her AAB series, whose finale is today!
gracecrone: Excellent! RT @TPDonline: You can find @randomOenophile at #thepennydreadful http://ow.ly/1DQkE with AAB series. Finale today!
lil_monmon: RT @TPDonline: You can find @randomOenophile at #thepennydreadful http://ow.ly/1DQkE with AAB series. Finale today! –good day. ^.^
TPDonline: #ThePennyDreadful Always a Bridesmaid Episode 12 – Author: Cecilia Dominic Title: Collision Genre: Paranormal Myst… http://ow.ly/17c97v.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

