Skip to content

Chat with Laura Eno

March 30, 2010

Transcripts of the chat with Laura Eno, author of the Immortals series, held Tuesday, March 30 2010.


TPDonline 10 more minutes for chat with the superTalented @lauraeno, creator of the brilliant “Immortals” series

TPDonline Good day/good evening everyone. Time for another exciting chat session at #thepennydreadful, this week it is with the lovely @lauraeno!

lauraeno Good day! I want to thank you for inviting me here!

TPDonline you can find out all about her at her website “A Shift in Dimensions” http://ow.ly/1sNIZ &her work on #thepennydreadful http://ow.ly/1sNHw

TPDonline Some of her books (Paranormal romance) can also be found at http://www.lseno.com/

techtigger @lauraeno You’re welcome! We’re glad to have you 🙂

TPDonline Hello @lauraeno , welcome, how are you doing today? 🙂

Doublelattemama @lauraeno Hi, Laura – Hi, everybody! <<<waves>>>

TPDonline Please feel free to join us here, everyone’s free to chip in with questions & insights. Don’t forget #ThePennyDreadful tag!

lauraeno I hope you don’t mind that I brought Jezebel along with me. I can’t leave her alone as it’s a full moon today

TPDonline Hi @Doublelattemama , Good to see you here!!

techtigger @Doublelattemama glad you could make it! 🙂

marisabirns Hello @TPDonline @techtigger @lauraeno – and everyone!

TPDonline @lauraeno *howls at the full moon* Hi, jezebel!

mariblaser As long as you keep her away from me… (uh) RT @lauraeno: I hope you don’t mind that I brought Jezebel along with me.

TPDonline @lauraeno So tell us a bit about your writing Laura. When did you first start writing/decide you wanted to be a writer? 🙂

lauraeno Writing is something that was always in the back of my mind – for later. I just decided to start about a year ago

marisabirns @lauraeno A year ago you started writing? Wow. You are prolific!

lauraeno That would be a kind way to put it, Marisa. ROFL!

RandomOenophile @lauraeno Count me impressed as well!

TPDonline @lauraeno So where do you get your ideas? Especially a horribly funny Grim reaper and misadventure prone Time 🙂

TonyNoland @lauraeno What prompted you to set pen to paper, and make “someday” into “today”?

lauraeno Most of my characters start talking in the middle of the night and pester me until I let them loose

Doublelattemama @lauraeno does that mean insomnia? yuck

mariblaser That’s me RT @lauraeno:Most of my characters start talking in the middle of the night and pester me until I let them loose

RandomOenophile @lauraeno w/ your middle of night ideas, do you jump up and write them down right away or wait til a.m.?

mariblaser I call it creative insomnia. Not as bad as the unproductive one 😉 RT @Doublelattemama: @lauraeno does that mean insomnia?

lauraeno No I fall back asleep RT @Doublelattemama: @lauraeno does that mean insomnia? yuck

TPDonline Let’s take @TonyNoland ‘s question 1st. good one 🙂 What prompted you to set pen to paper, and make “someday” into “today?

lauraeno Tony – I was designing jewelry and the economy dived, after a month of baking bread everyday the voices started.

TonyNoland @lauraeno Was the bread baking a day job, or therapy? 😎

lauraeno Heh, therapy RT @TonyNoland: @lauraeno Was the bread baking a day job, or therapy? 😎

marisabirns @lauraeno The voices started after a month of baking bread? Ok. Um. What KIND of bread were you baking?

TPDonline LOL! RT @marisabirns The voices started after a month of baking bread? Ok. Um. What KIND of bread were you baking?

lauraeno I’m not telling. RT @marisabirns: @lauraeno The voices started… What KIND of bread were you baking?

Doublelattemama @mariblaser @lauraeno “creative insomnia” -i like that. i have it too but have trouble tapping into it sometimes-any tips?

lauraeno I’ve gotten good at writing semi-ledgible in the dark . Otherwise, I forget.

mariblaser Ohh, I’m envious, I think. 😛 RT @lauraeno: No I fall back asleep RT @Doublelattemama: does that mean insomnia? yuck

TPDonline I like this term 🙂 RT @mariblaser I call it “creative insomnia.”

techtigger @lauraeno oh dear, my handwriting is so bad I’d never make sense of the heiroglyphs in the morning!

marisabirns @techtigger The only time I woke up and wrote something in the middle of the night, it looked like parseltongue in am.

mariblaser @marisabirns You made me LOL w/ the parseltongue remark & my dog complained of the noise,which made me LOL again, ahha

mariblaser @Doublelattemama @lauraeno I can’t sleep before I write at least a rough outline.

mariblaser @Doublelattemama @lauraeno Sometimes if I refuse to write I lose the story,but when the char grabs me I lose the sleep lol

TPDonline @lauraeno So where do you get the ideas for the Immortals, esp a horribly funny Grim reaper and misadventure prone Time 🙂

lauraeno Tips for creative insomnia..you can borrow Jezebel…

mariblaser O_o You’re mean! RT @lauraeno: Tips for creative insomnia..you can borrow Jezebel…

Doublelattemama @lauraeno thx but i’m allergic to cats … 😉

mariblaser Thanks! 😀 RT @TPDonline: I like this term 🙂 RT @mariblaser I call it “creative insomnia.”

TPDonline @lauraeno to say nothing of the bar owning, poker playing Lucien/Devil (and mushroom loving Mother Earth)

lauraeno Lucien talked to me about his bar first, then Death and Time wanted in

RandomOenophile I hate to admit, but I’m not clear on what Jezebel is RT @Doublelattemama: @lauraeno thx but i’m allergic to cats … 😉

mariblaser Neither do I, but I want nothing to do w/ her http://ow.ly/1sOy2 RT @RandomOenophile: I’m not clear on what Jezebel is

lauraeno Jezebel is my tentacled pet from the Underworld

TonyNoland @marisabirns Every time I’v had an idea in the middle of the night and NOT written it down, I regret not having done so.

marisabirns @TonyNoland Unfortunately once I’m asleep, which is very easy for me, I don’t awaken until morning, so I’ve got nuthin’.

mariblaser @TonyNoland Same here Tony. Except when the story won’t let go, then I have no regrets, ’cause I can’t sleep anyway, heh.

RandomOenophile @marisabirns Yeah, I’m pretty much the same way. I’ve heard that if you start writing your dreams, inspiration will come.

mariblaser You’re very fortunate, in a diff way 🙂 RT @marisabirns: @TonyNoland once I’m asleep, I don’t awaken until morning

marisabirns @RandomOenophile Oh I wish that I dreamed. Or if I do, that I would remember them. But it’s pretty quiet. Sad, really.

RandomOenophile @marisabirns That just means you don’t wake during your dreams. You do sleep soundly!

techtigger @lauraeno can you tell us a bit about your Paranormal Romance stories?

lauraeno Seducer of her Dreams is a steamy book about a dream seducer to visits earth and learns what it means to be human

TPDonline @lauraeno What inspires you? What gets your creative juices going?

lauraeno My inspiration comes from things: the moon, mirrors, dreams

lauraeno And sexy too! 😉

TPDonline @marisabirns I keep a dream diary. get lots of ideas from them 🙂

mariblaser If I did that, my day would be over before beginning! RT @TPDonline: @marisabirns I keep a dream diary

marisabirns @TPDonline Keep a notebook by bed to write things down. Empty so far. Wow. Feeling bummed about inadequacies!

Doublelattemama @TPDonline i used to keep a dream diary -helped me remember my dreams. couldn’t do it now bc i get awakened by children

TPDonline @marisabirns Doesn’t happen very regularly, maybe one or two dreams per month. I get better plot ideas in the shower 😛

TPDonline @Doublelattemama Yea, nothing happens if you’re too tired or sleep is disturbed though.

Doublelattemama @TPDonline exactly – and my kids r taking turns going 2 bed late and not sleeping thru the night

mariblaser Sorry about the ignorance, but what is a dream seducer? RT @lauraeno: Seducer of her Dreams is a book abt a dream seducer

lauraeno Dream seducers are gods who visit your dreams to give you pleasure/fantasies 😉

mariblaser Ahh, not incubus/sucubus ? RT @lauraeno: Dream seducers are gods who visit your dreams to give you pleasure/fantasies 😉

lauraeno No. 🙂 RT @mariblaser: Ahh, not incubus/sucubus ?

mariblaser Then I want to meet one of those, lol. *blushes* RT @lauraeno: No. 🙂 RT @mariblaser: Ahh, not incubus/sucubus ?

lauraeno Ha! Sorry, they just come to you or not. 🙂 RT @ChrisRivan: @lauraeno Where can I apply for one?

marisabirns @lauraeno Okay, I need you to send me a couple of dream seducers. Uh. Cute ones.

lauraeno Me too! Devan, the seducer in my book is fabulous! RT @mariblaser: Then I want to meet one of those, lol. *blushes*

TPDonline Oooh, I like the name too!! RT @lauraeno: Me too! Devan, the seducer in my book is fabulous

TPDonline Ooh, yummy. I need to read ur books! RT @ lauraeno Dream seducers are gods who visit ur dreams 2 give u pleasure/fantasies

techtigger @lauraeno I noticed you had both e-book and print available – what has your experience been like w/kindle, e-books?

techtigger @lauraeno any pointers or pitfalls you’d like to share?

TonyNoland RT @techtigger: @lauraeno what has your experience been like w/kindle, e-books?

lauraeno Sales are high and steady with Kindle. I own one myself and love it.

mariblaser This is great news. Cheers! 🙂 RT @lauraeno: Sales are high and steady with Kindle. I own one myself and love it.

RandomOenophile @lauraeno So if you started writing a year ago and you already have a novel, what was your timeline?

lauraeno I have 3- 2 YA fantasies and 1 romance. I wrote for 4 mos like it was NaNoWriMo. RT @RandomOenophile:

TPDonline BRILLIANT! this is inspiring! RT @lauraeno: I have 3- 2 YA fantasies&1 romance. I wrote for 4 mos like it was NaNoWriMo.

techtigger @lauraeno how have you been marketing the book? Just on your site?

lauraeno My books are all on Amazon and Smashwords. Marketing has been pretty much blog and word of mouth

mariblaser @lauraeno Do you have a publisher or you chose self-pub path?

TPDonline @lauraeno On CreateSpace? Sounds like a promising service!

lauraeno CreateSpace is AWESOME! RT @TPDonline: @lauraeno On CreateSpace? Sounds like a promising service!

lauraeno I self-pubbed! RT @mariblaser: @lauraeno Do you have a publisher or you chose self-pub path?

TPDonline @lauraeno Do you have a regular schedule/routine for writing? What is your schedule like when you’re writing?

lauraeno I write best in morning and late evening or anytime I don’t have a pen (like in the shower)

marisabirns @lauraeno I amend my previous admiring thought. You’re amazingly prolific, Laura!

techtigger @lauraeno was it hard to get set up with self-pub, or are those services fairly user freindly?

lauraeno @techtigger I recommend April Hamilton’s book on self pub. CreateSpace is simple, straightforward

TPDonline Thanks, must check it out. RT @lauraeno @techtigger: I recommend April Hamilton’s book on self pub.

mariblaser Oh, you’re a brave one! 🙂 RT @lauraeno: I self-pubbed! RT @lauraeno Do you have a publisher or you chose self-pub path?

marisabirns @lauraeno Do you write in longhand first, then?

lauraeno I write in longhand first… 🙂

Doublelattemama @lauraeno how do you use createspace vs smashwords? not sure i understand the role of each

lauraeno PJ CreateSpace is paperbacks on Amazon, Smashwords is all the various epubs

Doublelattemama @lauraeno good – thanks for clarifying that 🙂

lauraeno The book is called The IndieAuthor Guide

mariblaser @lauraeno Do you have a day job/kids? Sorry for the personal Q, but it sounds you have lots of free time? *sheepish look*

lauraeno Yes, I’m fortunate. My job is writer 😛 I have kids but they better take care of themselves ( they’re in their 30’s)

techtigger @lauraeno thanks for answering all the questions on e-pub, it’s nice to hear from someone who is doing it successfully

techtigger Looks like our hour is almost up, any last questions for @lauraeno?

TPDonline Last few minutes till we officially conclude chat and bring out the wine 😉

TPDonline @lauraeno What made you interested in writing for the web? Especially the episodic format?

lauraeno Flash fiction was introduced to me by @jmstro with his #fridayflash tag. The episodic was Death’s fault…

TPDonline ROFL! @lauraeno The episodic was Death’s fault…

marisabirns @lauraeno More books brewing on the horizon for you?

lauraeno Yes, I am currently brewing. 😉 RT @marisabirns: @lauraeno More books brewing on the horizon for you?

techtigger ooh, any hints? RT @lauraeno: Yes, I am currently brewing. 😉

TPDonline @lauraeno How do you feel being part of this blossoming project that is #Thepennydreadful?

lauraeno I love the idea of ThePennyDreadful! I’m very happy to be a part of it. It’s a great concept

mariblaser Love the concept too! RT @lauraeno: I’m very happy to be a part of it. It’s a great concept

marisabirns Thank you, Laura, for the lovely hour chat. And Jezebel was so well behaved. *looks around to make sure no one eaten*

lauraeno *snort* She was, wasn’t she? RT @marisabirns: *looks around to make sure no one eaten*

techtigger @marisabirns I don’t know, @TonyNoland has been quiet for a bit now. Spit him out, Jezebel! No eating the guests! :

mariblaser @TPDonline @lauraeno Thanks for the great chat. It was fun and educating! (perfect combination) #thepennydreadful Hope @TonyNoland is ok tho

lauraeno I sent Jezebel over there to check on him… uh, oh

TonyNoland Had to duck out for a bit, though I kept an eye on the chat. Very informative & inspiring, @lauraeno Thanks!

TPDonline @lauraeno Do you have any message that you want to say to your lovely readers and fans ?

lauraeno I’d like to say that I so appreciate each and every one of you for reading, commenting, friending and encouraging me!

TPDonline @lauraeno With that lovely message, we must conclude this chat officially. Thanks for being with us today laura

Doublelattemama @TPDonline @lauraeno thanks, laura & thanks tpd!

mariblaser RT @TPDonline: @lauraeno at the penny dreadful “IMMORTALS” http://ow.ly/1sPKe & Shift in Dimensions “http://ow.ly/1sPKf

techtigger @lauraeno thanks for the chat! So glad to have you, and the Immortals on TPD! http://TPDonline.wordpress.com

TPDonline Thanks to everyone who joined us today,it was lovely to have all of you along for the ride!Have a good day/night! Cheers!

TPDonline Follow @TPDonline or #thepennydreadful hashtag for transcripts, who’ll be on next week & for good old serial fiction fun!

One Comment leave one →
  1. lauraeno permalink
    March 30, 2010 9:53 pm

    Thank you to everyone for asking me to be a part of this today and for being such an amazing audience. I am humbled by your support.

Leave a Reply

