Skip to content

Chat with Monica Marier of Tangent Artists

June 2, 2010
by

Transcripts of the chat with Monica Marier {aka @lil_monmon} of Tangent Artists, held on Tuesday, June 1st 2010

Weston from The Skeleton Crew

TPDonline : Hi everyone! Let’s get the party started – take a minute to introduce yourselves :)
lil_monmon : Hello all. Kids are napping. Got a fresh pot of coffee on and all is right w. the world.
TPDonline : @techtigger here running the @tpdonline account today-giving my wonderfully evil co-moderator @cafenirvana a break :)
gracecrone : Had to stop by because I’m curious. Hello all.
TonyNoland : Howdy. A cup of coffee sounds pretty good actually.
AnneTylerLord : I’m here until I have to pick up the kids from school – yay! last week of school so I can be around for the afternoon chats
Doublelattemama : good afternoon – stopping in and doing some paperwork at the same time :-)
mariblaser : Hello! I’m here I made it! :D
CafeNirvana : Nishi here, evil co-mod of TPD, happy to hand over the reins today to @techtigger so I can hang up the cape and lurk!
LexxClarke : Evening all :o)
shadowsinstone : Afternoon all.
TPDonline : Hello everyone and welcome!  We are excited to announce a very cool addition to TPDonline! *drumroll*
LexxClarke : *bites nails* @TPDonline
CafeNirvana : Dun dun dunnnn!!!
TPDonline : We are excited to announce that we are partnering w/the awesome folks at Tangent Artists to bring you weekly webcomics!
LexxClarke : ooooh weekly webcomics!
AnneTylerLord : RT @TPDonline: We are excited to announce we are partnering w/the folks at Tangent Artists to bring you weekly webcomics!
lil_monmon : *LOL* I think you were enjoying that a little too much!
TPDonline : We will be featuring Skeleton Crew by the talented @lil_monmon
mariblaser : Whee! RT @TPDonline: announce that we are partnering w/the awesome folks at Tangent Artists to bring you weekly webcomics!
TPDonline : and CRIT by the Tangent Artists team!  You can find their site here: http://www.tangentartists.com/
AnneTylerLord : Great!! What does that mean for #ThePennyDreadful ?
TonyNoland : Bravo!
gracecrone : Cool! RT @TPDonline We r excited 2 announce we r partnering w/awesome folks @ Tangent Artists 2 bring u weekly webcomics!
TPDonline : @lil_monmon @cafenirvana keeps stealing the TPDonline mic  *lol*
Doublelattemama : cool! RT @TPDonline: We are excited to announce that we are partnering w/ Tangent Artists to bring you weekly webcomics!
CafeNirvana : RT @TPDonline: We will be featuring Skeleton Crew by the talented @lil_monmon
lil_monmon : RT @TPDonline: We are excited to announce that we are partnering w/the awesome folks at Tangent Artists to bring you weekly webcomics!
cafenirvana : RT @TPDonline: and CRIT by the Tangent Artists team!  You can find their site here: http://www.tangentartists.com/
AnneTylerLord : I’ve got the site up and the graphics look great  – will their artists be publishing comics thru
lil_monmon : Thanks for believing in me/us. :)
TPDonline : @AnneTylerLord still working out the details but we are looking to have listings w/preview images w/links to their site
AnneTylerLord : WooHoo! RT @cafenirvana: RT @TPDonline: We will be featuring Skeleton Crew by the talented @lil_monmon
CafeNirvana : I blame the mouse. I had nothin to do with it. ;) @tpdonline @lil_monmon @cafenirvana keeps stealing the TPDonline mic *lol*
lil_monmon : RT @TPDonline: and CRIT by the Tangent Artists team!  You can find their site here:  http://www.tangentartists.com/
gracecrone : Great! Can’t wait to see it. RT @TPDonline: We will be featuring Skeleton Crew by the talented @lil_monmon
AnneTylerLord : @TPDonline Wow! Very cool! Any chance those talented folks will ever be interested in drawing for some of us?
TPDonline : @lil_monmon we’re thrilled to have you guys – i know I’m a huge fan of webcomics :)
cafenirvana : @AnneTylerLord Just means we’re finally moving on to everything we wanted to do one step at a time!
AnneTylerLord : So excited to see your work! Can’t wait – haven’t seen it yet! RT @lil_monmon: Thanks for believing in me/us. :)
TPDonline : ooh shameless plug time – @lil_monmon also has a book coming out based on CRIT!  Feel free to tell us more!
AnneTylerLord : @lil_monmon Okay I just saw some of your work over on Tangent Artists – Amazing! I am in awe of your drawing ability!
lil_monmon : wow everything’s going so fast.I can’t type to keep up.
AnneTylerLord : @cafenirvana that is so great – I love this – and hope we can all do more into the multimedia route
TPDonline : yep we’ve always planned to branch out beyond flashfic to other media (tho that is still our core :)
gracecrone : Truly awesome. Congrats you deserve it. :-) RT @lil_monmon: Thanks for believing in me/us. :)
cafenirvana : @lil_monmon yea we love comics and on the web is even more fun! I am impressed by your work!
mariblaser : RT @TPDonline: and CRIT by the Tangent Artists team!  You can find their site here: http://www.tangentartists.com/
lil_monmon : @TPDonline Based on CRIT! “Must Love Dragons” is coming out this sept. through @huntpress
TPDonline : @lil_monmon yeah these chats tend to be a whirlwind :)  Hang on dorothy!  *lol*
LexxClarke : @TPDonline comics are another traditional penny dreadful type serial though I’m thinking of Peanuts and the like
cafenirvana : it’s alright take your own time :) RT @lil_monmon wow everything’s going so fast. I can’t type to keep up.
lil_monmon : @LexxClarke We update every week and each comic has an overall story lasting 20-24 pages.
CafeNirvana : ‘Cos Kansas is going bye bye!! (always wanted to say that!) RT @lil_monmon ~ chats are a whirlwind. Hang on dorothy! *lol*
mariblaser : Wow congrats guys. This is an awesome partnership and comics (on line or not) rock!  @TPDonline @cafenirvana @lil_monmon
LexxClarke : @lil_monmon fantastic I very much look forward to it :o)
lil_monmon : CRIT oddly enough started out as me "taking the minutes" of our D&D games. If something funny happened I drew a comic.
LexxClarke : @cafenirvana how very ‘Matrix’ of you!
lil_monmon : Thanks all for your enthusiasm. Myself and the rest of TA are really excited about this.
TPDonline : @LexxClarke absolutely webcomics are a perfect example of serials both on and off the web
lil_monmon : @cafenirvana yeah that was so “Morpheus”
cafenirvana : lolol :D #geekunite RT @LexxClarke @cafenirvana how very ‘Matrix’ of you!
TPDonline : @lil_monmon everyone here knows about TPD by now – can you tell us a bit more about Tangent Artists?
lil_monmon : @LexxClarke Yeah I’ve been a fan of the Sundays but also of Prince Valiant and serial comics like that.
CafeNirvana : RT @TPDonline: @lil_monmon everyone here knows about TPD by now – can you tell us a bit more about Tangent Artists?
LexxClarke : @lil_monmon @cafenirvana Uh actually it was Cipher who said that line #geekunite
lil_monmon : @TPDonline Tangent Artists started out as an animation company with too little staff and too many ideas in 2005…
AnneTylerLord : @lil_monmon Oh we discovered Prince Valiant – my kids love that   I also love anything serial even soaps
lil_monmon : …we decided to turn our scripts/storyboards into weekly comics instead.
CafeNirvana : Was just typing that out! :) RT @LexxClarke: @lil_monmon @cafenirvana Uh actually it was Cipher who said that line
cafenirvana : @lil_monmon @AnneTylerLord I love prince valiant too :)
lil_monmon : @LexxClarke Forgot it was an actual quote. I can’t abide that movie w.out the rifftrax. *LOL*
LexxClarke : @cafenirvana psych! lol
TPDonline : @lil_monmon having tried animation I can certainly understand the move to static images :D
lil_monmon : @TPDonline Skeleton Crew is a project my brother and I started (he co-writes w. me btw) about undead heroes.
cafenirvana : @LexxClarke It’s the twitter collective consciousness at work. Usually I “psych” with @techtigger. :D
TPDonline : @lil_monmon I love the characters in that one – they remind me of an undead xmen back when they were still teens :)
LexxClarke : @lil_monmon do you both write and creates the images or does one of you take the lead on each?
lil_monmon : We wanted to take the Universal Movie monsters and make them cuddly good guys.
cafenirvana : @lil_monmon Tell us more about the undead heroes. Where did you get the idea & inspiration for them? they’re so cool!
mariblaser : RT @TPDonline: ooh shameless plug time – @lil_monmon also has a book coming out based on CRIT!
lil_monmon : @LexxClarke I do the artwork. The script depends: sometimes it’s one or the other of us. Sometimes were a team.
AnneTylerLord : I gotta bow out for awhile to get the kids – will be back in 15 min. if you all are still here-congrats on  announcements
cafenirvana : That is brilliant! Hats off! RT @lil_monmon @LexxClarke I do the artwork…..
LexxClarke : @lil_monmon sounds like a great partnership :o)
cafenirvana : @AnneTylerLord see you later anne! thanks for coming even if for a little while! :) come back soon!
LexxClarke : @AnneTylerLord oh we’ll be here I imagine lol
lil_monmon : @cafenirvana My brother was listening to Juicebox Rox which is a mashup of the theme to the Munsters…
CafeNirvana : @lil_monmon tell us a bit about the comic writing/drawing/creation process. How do you go about it?
lil_monmon : @AnneTylerLord Seeya real soon!
lil_monmon : @cafenirvana and he envisioned a munsters-like team of superheros which we both fleshed out in half an hour.
TPDonline : @lil_monmon just caught your post about CRIT! coming out of your D&D games – TPD really is becoming RPG central! *grinz*
lil_monmon : @cafenirvana Process: Me Bro comes to my house. We drink LOTS of caffeine and write a script…
lil_monmon : @cafenirvana I then do pencil thumbnails and trim the script. Then I CG the pages one week at a time and post them.
oodja : RT @TPDonline: We r excited 2 announce wer partnering w/the awesome folks at Tangent Artists 2 bring you weekly webcomics!
cafenirvana : I like you & your bro my kinda peeps ;) Is he on twitter btw? @lil_monmon Process: Bro comes home. We drink LOTS of caffeine
lil_monmon : @cafenirvana CRIT! is less fluid. We had 2 notebooks full of jokes and sketches but no plot…
CafeNirvana : @lil_monmon I know this is very technical but what do you use to draw your comics? Any particular software recs?
CafeNirvana : #GEEKSUNITE !!! lolol ! RT @TPDonline: @lil_monmon   TPD really is becoming RPG central! *grinz*
lil_monmon : @cafenirvana Maybe after today I can convince him to get an account.
lil_monmon : @cafenirvana I do the pencils by hand then I ink and finalize using an ancient Photoshop programme.
CafeNirvana : @lil_monmon ah pity :) if he had one he could join in the chat today.would be cool to have the masterminds together.
lil_monmon : @cafenirvana but we’d never let anyone get a word in edgewise. muahahahah
mariblaser : Yeah! :) RT @gracecrone: Truly awesome. Congrats you deserve it. :-) RT @lil_monmon: Thanks for believing in me/us. :)
LexxClarke : @lil_monmon do you scan your pencil images into the computer before inking?
TPDonline : @lil_monmon if any of the TA group get on twitter they’ll have a built-in pile of followers! :)
lil_monmon : When the 2 of us are together we tend to speak in siblingese
lil_monmon : @LexxClarke yes. I just got a new (refurbished) tablet that I use to ink. If I do a lot of detail I prefer “analogue” pen
lil_monmon : @LexxClarke The bottom panel here is by hand. http://www.tangentartists.com/skeletoncrew/skeletoncrew_106.html
gracecrone : @lil_monmon Just looking over your TA site. You guys are completely talented. Great stuff!
LexxClarke : @lil_monmon ah ok cool love the extra detail :o)
TPDonline : @lil_monmon did you have any training in art or are you self-taught?
lil_monmon : @gracecrone Thanks! : 3 We’ve been working hard to provide quality stories for over 4 years!
lil_monmon : @TPDonline I have a BA in Digital Arts and Animation but writing I’m self-taught
mariblaser : Love it! RT @lil_monmon: The bottom panel here is by hand http://bit.ly/a9AylH
lil_monmon : @LexxClarke I like Harvey. XD
mariblaser : @lil_monmon Are you influenced by manga? The link you sent made me believe so. :)
lil_monmon : @TPDonline It’s funny that I never thought of myself as a writer despite the fact that I wrote for my comics since 2000.
lil_monmon : @mariblaser My art is a big mish-mash of everything I’ve read and liked. I like Rumiko Takahashi a lot.
cafenirvana : Sorry just got stuck on the TA site. must-resist-until-chat-is-over!!
lil_monmon : @mariblaser …but I also like The Simpsons Batman Garfield and Sluggy Freelance.
lil_monmon : @cafenirvana *LOL*
LexxClarke : @lil_monmon Ahh Garfield a philosopher for our age :o)
marirandomities : And Calvin!   RT @LexxClarke: @lil_monmon Ahh Garfield a philosopher for our age :o)
lil_monmon : @mariblaser Every time I see something I love it affects my art so it really is a fusion of all art styles.
marirandomities : Best creativity comes from a wide variety of influences yes?. ;) RT @lil_monmon: fusion of all art styles.
TPDonline : @lil_monmon I think a lot of us didn’t think of ourselves as writers/authors at first since our work was online
marirandomities : Err if you noticed my twitter name changed but it’s me Mari-girl here. #JustSayin :)
CafeNirvana : Well said! RT @lil_monmon Every time I see something I love it affects my art so it really is a fusion of all art styles.
lil_monmon : @marirandomities I’ve been criticized for not being a true manga artist or a true comic artist but I yam what I yam.
AnneTylerLord : I’m back I see we are on to Garfield – love him!
TPDonline : @lil_monmon but you most certainly are one! :)
marirandomities : @lil_monmon This kind of critic is stupid. What matter is that your art is awesome and we’re dying to see more!
lil_monmon : @TPDonline :D I just keep at it and every year I do this I get better!
cafenirvana : hear hear! yams of the world unite! RT @lil_monmon: @marirandomities Ive been criticized… but I yam what I yam.
TPDonline : @lil_monmon call it a manga-comic fusion let the critics chew on that for a while *grinz*
TPDonline : Wow look at the time!  The official chat will be ending in a few minutes but feel free as always to hang out and gab!
AnneTylerLord : @lil_monmon I think it’s great U go where you are drawn (no pun intended well maybe) just like us who don’t write1 genre
lil_monmon : @TPDonline Yeah I call it “fusion” at the conventions. (very few conventions this year sadly-long story)
marirandomities : Yeah! RT @TPDonline: @lil_monmon call it a manga-comic fusion let the critics chew on that for a while *grinz*
gracecrone : True but we really r. RT @TPDonline I think a lot of us didn’t think of selves as authors at first since work was online
TPDonline : @lil_monmon thanks so much for letting us put you on the spot to talk today and on short notice! Really appreciate it!
marirandomities : *prosecco bottle ready to pour* *grinz* RT @TPDonline: as long as you bring the wine you can use any nametag you like :)
AnneTylerLord : YAY! RT @cafenirvana: hear hear! yams of the world unite! @lil_monmon: @marirandomities  but I yam what I yam.
lil_monmon : @TPDonline Thanks! I had a blast! I’m looking so forward to being part of the TPDO family.
AnneTylerLord : Oh Yeah! RT @marirandomities: *prosecco bottle ready to pour* @TPDonline: as long as U bring the wine Ucan use any name
LexxClarke : @lil_monmon it’s been very informative :o)
lil_monmon : @AnneTylerLord I got to do it. Even if nobody read it I just have to write/draw. It’s part of who I am.
AnneTylerLord : @lil_monmon thanks joining us – we hope you will have a great time and we are glad you are here
marirandomities : Us writers heh. RT @lil_monmon: Even if nobody read it I just have to write/draw. Its part of who I am.
TPDonline : Watch in the coming weeks for the webcomics by @lil_monmon & the Tangent Artists crew on  #thepennydreadful !
marirandomities : RT @TPDonline: Watch in the coming weeks for the webcomics by @lil_monmon & the Tangent Artists crew on #thepennydreadful
gracecrone : @TPDonline @lil_monmon It’s been great fun. Congrats again. Great news!   (forgot hashtag)
lil_monmon : Argh. Time to make linky buttons. X/
TPDonline : and thanks everyone for stopping by always fun to chat with you all! :)
cafenirvana : @lil_monmon Thanks so much for joining us here & on TPDOnline.we’re chuffed, tickled &  honoured to have your team on board
cafenirvana : RT @TPDonline: Watch in the coming weeks for the webcomics by @lil_monmon & the Tangent Artists crew on  #ThePennyDreadful!
marirandomities : Thanks everyone for the great chat!!!
AnneTylerLord : RT @TPDonline: Watch in the coming weeks for the webcomics by @lil_monmon & the Tangent Artists crew on #ThePennyDreadful!
lil_monmon : Last thing you can pre-order my book “Must Love Dragons” at http://www.huntpress.com/Home_Page.html
TPDonline : RT @lil_monmon: Last thing you can pre-order my book “Must Love Dragons” at http://www.huntpress.com/Home_Page.html
marirandomities : RT @lil_monmon: you can pre-order my book “Must Love Dragons” at http://www.huntpress.com/Home_Page.html
lil_monmon : @cafenirvana Glad to be part of it. We all are.
TPDonline : Okay I must run – Thanks again and we’ll see you all next week :)
marirandomities : Cheers to that! :) RT @TPDonline: Okay I must run – Thanks again and we’ll see you all next week :)
lil_monmon : Bye everyone! See you all next week!
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27 other followers

